The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Series Information: Majipoor Cycle (and Valentine Trilogy)


Rating: Weighted - 7.51 / Average - 7.5 of 10 (29 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)

Description's Source:

The Valentine trilogy takes place on the planet Majipoor. Several other books take place on the same planet but not at the same time as Valentine.

An example of SFF writing where the setting is really the star attraction. The planet of Majipoor is a Big Planet, long ago colonized by humans and a variety of other species. There are myriads of interesting plants, animals, and cultures, and the mysterious Majipoori natives, the Shapeshifters. Like Jack Vance's writing: a boggle of invention, all described colorfully, with characters romping from one quirky society to the next. Silverberg has revisited Majipoor numerous times, not just directly continuing the saga of Valentine, but filling out the planet's history both before and after his time.


Genre: FictionFantasy
FictionScience FictionScience Fantasy

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use