The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Series Information: My Side of the Mountain Trilogy, the


Rating: Weighted - 7.54 / Average - 7.4 of 10 (18 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)

Description's Source:

Asked why the writing of the My Side of the Mountain trilogy took Jean Craighead George more than 40 years, she responds, "My mother disapproved of sequels. 'Those are trashy books,' she told me when I was a child. So I grew up and did not write them.

"But kids are wiser than adults, I learned. Letters kept arriving from schools and homes, saying, 'We want to know more about Sam, Frightful, and the wilderness.' 'Sequels,' they said, 'are important.' They were right."

In the first of the series, My Side of the Mountain, Sam leaves home to fend for himself in the Catskill Mountains of upstate New York. For a year he lives in a hollowed-out tree, befriending animals and depending on his wits for survival. In the sequel, On the Far Side of the Mountain, Sam's sister has now joined him, and his falcon is confiscated by a conservation officer. Frightful's Mountain is an interesting departure for George. Written from the perspective of Frightful the falcon, the concluding novel in the trilogy follows her efforts to learn to depend on her own instincts in a world crawling with dangers.


Genre: FictionChildren & Young AdultAdventureWilderness Survival

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use