The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Series Information: Gormenghast Trilogy, the


Rating: Weighted - 7.26 / Average - 7.2 of 10 (48 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)

Description's Source:

Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast Trilogy consists of Titus Groan (1946), Gormenghast (1950) and Titus Alone (1959); books which defy categorisation and show in their coruscating prose the same eye for detail and passion for the grotesque that Peake had demonstrated in his illustrative work. Gormenghast is the vast crumbling castle to which the seventy-sevent Earl, Titus Groan, is Lord and heir. Gothic labyrinth of roofs and turrets, cloisters and corridors, stairwells and dungeons, it is also the cobwebbed kingdom of Byzantine government and age-old ritual, a world primed to implode beneath the weight of centuries of intrigue, treachery, manipulation and murder in a world suggested in a tour de force that ranks as one of this century's most remarkable feats of imaginative writing.


Genre: FictionFantasyDark Fantasy
FictionFantasyLiterary Fantasy

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use