The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Series Information: Asian Saga, the


Rating: Weighted - 8.1 / Average - 8.1 of 10 (92 votes)
Comments: 0 (show them)

Description's Source:

The Asian Saga is comprised of seven books by James Clavell. The locations, which range from Japan to Turkey, are richly described by Clavell, who was a master at capturing the essence of the various locales.

For the most part, the saga revolves around the Struan family and their trading company, Struan's, also known as the Noble House. A couple of exceptions are "Sho-Gun," which takes place in medieval Japan, and "King Rat," which is a semi-autobiographical novel drawn from Clavell's time as a prisoner-of-war in the notorious Changi Prison during World War II. However, Clavell manages to tie both of those novels into the saga in "Noble House."

Chronologically (according to the storyline) the books are:
"Sho-Gun" 1600
"Tai-Pan" 1841
"Gai-Jin" 1862
"King Rat" 1945
"Noble House" 1963
"Whirlwind" 1979
"Escape" 1979


Genre: FictionHistoricalAsia

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use