The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Series Information: Song of Ice and Fire, a


Rating: Weighted - 8.64 / Average - 8.6 of 10 (1272 votes)
Comments: 13 (show them)

Description's Source:
Description: user description
Main Series

A Song of Ice and Fire is an epic fantasy series set in the fictitious world of Westeros. Reminescent of Europe in the Middle Ages, except for the fact that in Westeroes, seasons can last as long as a decade. The plot is recounted from the point of view of more than ten main characters and takes place on the continents of the Seven Kingdoms and the Lands of the Summer Sea, the former being the location of a fierce power struggle between several ruling families after the death of King Robert Baratheon, who by war, lineage, and marriage had united them all. Meanwhile, the last surviving member of House Targaryen, the ruling family in Westeros for nearly 300 years before being defeated in civil war, and then expelled by Robert and his allies, is trying to find allies to reconquer the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros. But all of them ignore the oncoming winter and the ancient dangers it brings.

Five books in the series have been published so far. Titles for the sixth and seventh books are The Winds of Winter and A Dream of Spring (previously A Time for Wolves), respectively.

Blood of the Dragon is a novella taken from Daenerys chapters in A Game of Thrones. It won the Hugo Award for Best Novella in 1997. Path of the Dragon is a second novella based on Daenerys chapters, this time taken from A Storm of Swords. Arms of the Kraken is a novella based on the Iron Islands chapters from A Feast for Crows.

Tales of Dunk and Egg

George R.R. Martin has also written three novellas set around a hedge knight and his lowly squire. Known as the Tales of Dunk and Egg series they are set about 100 years before the main series and form a prequel series. The first two novella have been adapted into graphic novels.


Genre: FictionFantasySecondary WorldsPolitical


©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use