The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Fahrenheit 451 (1953)

Review by drache_gnar (2006-02-21)
Fahrenheit 451 is a very interesting little novel with deals with some very important issues in modern society.
The protagonist, Montag, is a believable character with mixed emotions about certain topis.

Bradbury has spun a very interesting tale, which feels way before its time.
It also proves to be quite eerie with the similarities to modern censorship.

Recomended.

Review by fltm (2005-10-24)
fahrenheit 451: the temperture at which books burn. this is the story of guy montag. he is a fire man who STARTS fires, not put them out. he lives in a world where nothing is questioned, and everyone likes it that way, it is easier. but one day, he meets a girl who makes him think, "What was it like before this?"
this book is all about the evils of sencorship, and just plain think "Why?". it is a modern day classic, and you will be in awe of how ironic it is...

Review by ash122689 (2004-10-07)
I think this isn't one of his better books. no offence to the people who like this book your entitled to your opinion, but if i ever read this book again i'll cry!!!!!!!

boo hoo!!!!

i will read all of your opinions to get many different veiws!

Review by wwwwolf (2003-09-05)
When I was in the school, this was one of the books that were up for literature projects. So, obviously, I was disinterested in reading it.

So today I picked it up and read it. Finally. And was surprised how easy it was actually to read, even when it concerns such a difficult topic.

And in summary, I have to say it's a depressing book - a dystopian vision of a world where the masses are kept ignorant and the smart people cannot get their voices heard. And ignorance is bliss, but is it, really? In a way, it also has insight on modern society and media, what happens if all information we get is spoon-fed and made tasteless and in all ways inoffensive. But in a way, it's also a comical view on these things, a stab at all of the rubbish that some people dare to call "entertainment".

It's an interesting book and, as a commentary, something that everyone should read, a book about society no one wants and that we should avoid at all costs.

Review by scottie (2003-08-27)
Another novel with a dystopian theme and another all-time favorite.

A small step behind classics of the genre (such as 1984 and Brave New World) but still a great read.

Review by Mike (2003-03-12)
I enjoyed the book. First read it back in the 4th grade or so, didn't understand it but 8 years later it's one of my favorites. :)
Ray Bradbury has a unique style, definetely worth a read!! :)

Review by Unforgiven (2003-03-08)
I can't honestly say I entirely enjoyed the book as much as I had expected.

It's good, and worth reading, no doubt, witha great message, but overall, I think the issue of censorship could have been better done.

Not at all to soudn harsh, however. I do recommend reading this book to anyone who hasn't - it's just that I had the impression that this book was better than it is, in my opinion.

Review by transient0 (2003-03-07)
This is one of those science fiction works that transcends science fiction to stand as true literature in it's own right. Perhaps the most important piece of fiction dealing with freedom of expression and censorship to have been written, along with Orwell's 1984.

Review by Jorapello (2003-03-07)
A book that illustrates the dangers of censorship, mainly. A good read even if you are not looking very deeply; it is a decent "sci-fi" book, but a beautiful political commentary. I suppose the reader is supposed to decide whether he would be able to do what Guy Montag eventually does. A bit overdone, waxing romantic about the power of books, but still poignant.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use