The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998)

Review by ladylaw (2009-09-17)
In the second book of the Harry Potter series, we get to know the existing characters better, and some new ones are added as well (eg. Dobby). All in all, of all the Harry Potter books, this is the one I enjoyed the least. It just didn't grab me as the first one did, I find the storyline tends to drag on a bit, or merely this is just because the originality has worn off a bit now.

Review by archaic (2006-05-15)
This book didn't seem to match up to the first book. I felt that it was a weaker story line and I wasn't as compelled to read this one. It had a few twists and turns that kept me interested but not as many as the other books in this series. All together I would have to say that this is the weakest of the series so far.

Review by lord ombra (2005-12-10)
This excellent novel had some of the great detail as did the first. The first and second Harry Potter novels are around the same level, except Harry's life slowly gets more dark, and more dangerous. This may even be as good as the first novel, if not better. Henceforth, I thank Joanne Kathleen Rowling again, for giving the community these great books.

Review by freejazz (2005-01-24)
I think this book is the weakest of the 5 out because it is a kind of repete style (cookie cutter) of book 1, without the freshness and without pushing the plot of the series. It's still good, just the weakest of the 5.

Review by marcelobbf (2005-01-05)
Everyone said it's the worse HP's book but it was the only I literaly couldn't put down, I mean it, I started reading around 9pm, when it was close to midnight I made a very strong coffe so I could keep up with the reading. I really don't no why people complain so much about this one...

Review by goldenphoenix (2005-01-01)
My enjoyment of this book was enhanced by the addition of some really terrific characters - Gilderoy Lockhart in particular. The plot may be slightly formulaic, but Rowling's continuing descriptions of the magical world are what makes her books stand out.

Probably the wittiest book in the series so far.

Review by darkkilala (2004-09-21)
I thought this book was ok. It was kind of boring though, it kind of drags out its plot. But a couple parts of it were cool and funny.

Review by nzilla (2003-03-09)
The second book in the Harry Potter series could be looked on as a find-and-replace job of the first book. It's still an entertaining read, though, and the rest of the series (at least so far) isn't formulaic after this one. 6.5(7)/10

Review by Jago360 (2003-03-08)
Easily the weakest of the current four Potter novels. The basic delight of Rowling's second venture into wizards and magical creatures is overshadowed by the introduction of unbearably irritating characters (Moaning Myrtle and especially Dobby the House-Elf - when will the author do us a favor and kill off all the elves?) and a plot that generally is not as involving as those of the other books. Still better than most fiction. . .but mainly important as the second part of the overall Potter plot.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use