The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Ender's Shadow (1999)

Review by ksciranko (2007-11-18) Contains spoilers. View anyway.


I rated OSC's Ender's Shadow a 9 for a few reasons. One: It was a great book and had a very catchy plot and list of characters. TWO: He takes his advantage of Sci-Fi and puts it into a parallel novel of Ender's Game. THREE: The only reason it isn't a 10 is because the first 100 (out of 463 in the version I read) were a bit dull. I guess this reason was to explain the background with Bean, Achilles, and Poke.

Review by archaic (2006-12-30)
I was very disappointed with this book. I and struggled to get through it. Reading one chapter felt like it took forever. The characters weren't nearly as well written as they were in Ender's Game and neither was the plot. Going into this book I knew that the author had added some of his religious beliefs which I didn't think that I would mind. But as I neared the halfway mark of the book I couldn't take it anymore and felt as though it was slowing down the pace of the book. Altogether I was very disappointed.

I gave this book a 6/10

Review by weezier (2006-11-14)
The summary of this book is fairly clear, but it doesn't do Ender's Shadow justice. Through Bean's experiences and the detailed retelling of the Hugo-winning Ender's Game, Card delves deep into questions of ethics and morals which can be eye-opening, even stunning. What is human? When does the child become an adult - and how much power should an adult have over the child? Where does one turn in a world of "lesser evils?"
While Ender's Shadow may lose some of the excitement and surprise which Card displayed in Ender's Game, it remains an extremely engaging novel. Through powerful narration and suspense, Card draws the reader into the book. And from there, he asks the reader things they may never otherwise ask of themselves.
Ender's Shadow is a novel definitely worth reading. You will find yourself inside the book, seeing Battle School and more from the eyes of Bean, the boy who grew up on the street but was discovered just in time to fight the "Bugger" army. But don't forget, this book is called Ender's Shadow read first how it all began, with Ender's Game.

Review by debzanne (2006-07-28)
As the other reviewers said, this book is the second-best in the series, and I would highly recommend reading Ender's Game first.

I was actually loathe to read this book, knowing it was about Bean, because I really disliked his character in Ender's Game. My husband read it right after Ender's Game and said it shed some light on the character, but I read on through Speaker for the Dead, etc. I came back to Ender's Shadow later and found that I liked it a great deal, much like I did Ender's Game. Additionally, it shed so much light on the character of Bean that I turned out liking him a great deal more. I felt like I had to reread Ender's Game immediately to pick up on the little details about Bean I'd missed and correct my opinion about him in the text.

Review by macjohn (2005-09-06)
This book runs parallel with Ender's game and I've now read the first 5 books in the Ender's Saga. This is my second favoriate (after Ender's Game). If I could do it over again, I'd read this one right after Ender's Game. The author says it doesn't matter which you read first but there are several pieces that I'm not sure I would have understood without having read Ender's Game first.

Anyway... a great story of child (Bean) who's life is followed from age 4 until age 7.

Review by alanhunt (2004-08-24)
Finally, Card moves back to what worked about the original Ender's game, and was lost in the random philosophical and existential whining of the other three original Ender books. Although taking place in the same time period as Ender's Game, it tells a significantly different story, and is, in my opinion, the second best book in the Ender saga.

Review by E-Tigger (2003-03-12)
A different take on Ender's Game.

Turns the tables on assumptions and beliefs of that book.

Review by Sergio (2003-03-10)
Good reading, at least back to Enders time with real action and real fights.

Review by transient0 (2003-03-07)
This is a book that runs in parallel to Ender's Game. It explores a darker side of the same story by following a character who loses his innocence almost at birth, unlike Ender who maintains it almost to the end. In truth, either book could be read first, but I would recommend starting with Ender's Game.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use