The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Good Omens (1990)

Review by ziggy222 (2009-08-17)
I have read this book about twelve times and it never gets old. This book tells the story of an Anti-Christ who just doesn't want the world to get destroyed, especially if he is the one that has to end it.
The authors have also some how made an angel and a demon, some of the most bizarre and hard to connect to things seem truly human and it makes it easy to connect to the characters in this great book. And don't forget, witches some how play a role in this story of Biblical proportions.

Review by snauty (2008-09-10)
This is an unbelievable team. Cult classic to say the very least. Pratchett & Gaiman created a wonderfully funny book on a serious subject.
Again Death steals the book for me, but not to mention the motorbike (or is it a Moped?)and the chapter with an alien giving out tickets always makes me smile. Not for people who are offended by satire directed at Biblical content. Would not be appreciated by devoutly religious individuals with no sense of humor.

Review by archaic (2007-02-12)
This book was a quick and easy read. From all the reviews I had read about the book I was hoping for more. The story didn't seem to drag on and on like some books due but at the same time it wasn't fast paced. I didn't really start to enjoy the book until I reached the last 90 or so pages. The book didn't seem to be as funny as it was said to be (it just may not be my sense of humor). I do have to admit that I enjoyed Crowley's and Aziraphale's characters.

Review by mojosmom (2004-08-26)
When I say that in reading the prologue, which consists of a conversatin between the Angel Aziraphale and Crawliy the Serpent in the Garden of Eden after the expulsion, I heard the voices of Peter Cook and Dudley Moore, you will have some sense of the humorous voice here.

The child who is to be the AntiChrist is born in a hospital run by a sect of Satanic nuns. Unfortuantely, Sister Mary Loquacious switches babies accidentally, and he is raised, not by an American diplomat, but by a solidly boring English couple.

There are descendants of witch finders, and prophets, here.

And the interesting question is: what happens when the Antichrist is an eleven-year-old boy who won't go along with the program?

Funny and thought-provoking, in the vein of Christopher Moore.

Review by Beaver (2003-10-28)
Good Omens is an apocalyptic satire. It has received many excellent reviews, from which I was led to expect something like a "Hitchhiker's Guide to Armageddon" as presented by Monty Python. Alas, I was disappointed. Good Omens was a quick and easy read but was only slightly humorous in places. It sounds like a great idea that was rather poorly executed. 7/10

Review by Sillywabbit (2003-03-14)
Officially THE funniest book I have EVER read! I have lost count of how many times I have read this book. It's always there, like an old and dear friend, to cheer me up when I feel down. The story is well told and moves at a good pace. The mail characters are likeable and enjoyable. Especially young Adam and his gang. Give it a go, you wont be disappointed :)

Review by rootbeer (2003-03-10)
Without a doubt the funniest book about the end of the world I've ever read. The demon Crowley is a great character, and Death has some of His funniest scenes right here in this book. Throw in an ineffectual angel, an incompetent which-hunter, a fake spiritual medium, the other three Horsemen of the Apocalypse, and the antichrist... who knew that would make great comedy?

Review by Blair_Hippo_Project (2003-03-07)
A light-hearted comedy about the apocalypse. Hysterically funny, stuffed to the gills with hillarious lines/scenes/characters. Only downside is the ending doesn't flash the same comedic teeth that makes the early going such a hoot. Recommended for . . . well, pretty much everybody.

Review by pvera (2003-03-07)
Hillarious and sarcastic to no end. The Antichrist is coming, the angel and the demon in charge of earth don't want him to succeed!

This is a fantastic book, even if it is loaded with british cultural references that can be a bit obscure to americans. I just love it.

Review by Cocteau (2003-03-02)
Lighter and younger than other Neil Gaiman stuff, still pretty fun read. I must say that I don't have a lot of patiente for Pratchet. He is a genius no doubt, but after 725 discworld novels it starts getting repetitive, his other stuff though, like this book are absolute pearls.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use