The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Brave New World (1932)

Review by cor-shasta (2011-07-13) Contains spoilers. View anyway.


Fantastic book, described in other reviews as dystopia. A Brave New World actually describes a Utopian society and how that future is flawed. He describes in the book how people are kept happy with drugs, sex, etc. But, to maintain this perfect society, it is absolutely unacceptable for any unhappiness. Also, Huxley describes the extremes the government goes to to ensure their idealistic society is achieved (such as the Human conditioning of children). Excellent Utopian SF.

(This review refers to the 1931 version titled “Brave New World”)

Review by Corleone (2005-03-05)
By far one of the greatest dystopian novels... I was struck by how similar the book's environment is to our current society, only ours is slightly more subtle, using several other tools than genetic engineering and drugs in order to maintain control.

Just remember, we all need to claim the right to be unhappy.

Review by pantea (2004-09-15)
Excellent book. I also recommend "Brave New World Revisited" also by Huxley and "We" by Zameyatin?

Review by scottie (2003-08-27)
I read Brave New World much more recently than most of the other dystopian novels I've reviewed. As a consequence I really appreciated the ending (I was dreading it whilst I was reading it) - it was hopeful!

Definitely a great read and definitely an all-time favorite.

Review by ChefInnocent (2003-04-06)
The story behind this book is great. The writing style of this book is atrocious. As a result, I would recommend others to determine what they expect from the book before they read it. This book is certainly a classic, but not for its eloquent prose.

Like layers of an onion, the reader can peal away text and subtext of this story. The book presents a government structuring a society to be inescapable and immalleable. Even better, is that the society is engineered so that “nobody” would even want to escape or change it. I could even see myself being “pleased” to be a part of that society whether as an alpha or a delta. I certainly wouldn’t know the difference.
The world is both beautiful and horrifying. The beauty is the perfection of harmony, efficiency, and organization. The horror is the creation, manipulation, and organization. Not only does the presented world seem believable, but the story of how it was came to pass is believable.

However, the writing style of Aldous Huxley leaves much to be desired. By writing style, I mean the syntactic structure. Some sentences, paragraphs, and pages need to be re-read to understand what he wrote. I don’t mean the deep meaning of what is written, but the actual sentences themselves. It almost makes you wonder how much peyote Huxley was taking that day.


Review by ledzepp461 (2003-03-08)
Brilliant and enjoyable! And as time is beginning to tell, this book is more a prophesy than a warning.

Review by transient0 (2003-03-07)
A much more human account of the dangers of the sort of bureaucratic, systematic world we are creating when taken to an extreme than Orwell's 1984. Brave New World offers a cynical glimmer of hope at the end which 1984 denies its readers. Read them both. Also of great interest by Huxley is Island.

Review by jon787 (2003-03-07)
A great book I had to read in High School (one of the few good books we were forced to read) It is a negative utopia (or dystopia) in which people brainwashed from birth to like what they do and to take a drug when they aren't happy.

Orgy Porgy ford and fun
Kiss the girls and make them one
Boys and one with girls at peace
Orgy Porgy gives release

Review by Jorapello (2003-03-07)
A beautiful book detailing the struggle of the individual in an increasingly monitored society. More realistic than Orwell's 1984, which is it's common comparison, in that it is a government by subtlety rather than by tyranny and fear. Bernard Marx and The Savage are point and counterpoint; they are both possibilities as representations for the reader, and their fates are done well. Overall, a beautiful, and eerily possible book.

Review by Cocteau (2003-03-02)
Look at when this book was written! 1932... how far are we from it? Its one of those books which make Nostradamus' prophecies look pathetic. Read 1984 as well.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use