The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Eye of the World, the (1990)

Review by hammad (2006-11-20) Contains spoilers. View anyway.


The eye of the world is an exceptionally deep and enthralling fantasy. However, like almost all fantasies now, it has a lot of influence from Tolkien's Lord of the Rings Trilogy. All the characters can be related to one or the other character from it. Moirane is like Gandalf, Rand is like Frodo, Mat is like Sam, Lan is like Aragorn and so on. The author has also adopted Tolkien's journey based storyline as well. The book is still, however, one of the best fantasies that I have ever come across and the author is the best thing to appen to fantasy since Tolkien himself... I look forward to reading the other eleven books of the series and I highly recommend this.

Review by infanticide (2005-03-01)
A must read for fantasy fans, but the series as a whole isn't so much.

It starts slow, and builds up, until the boil over at the end.

A couple of characters add a lot of mystic by adding information; even more by withholding.

Great action and terrifying chases, but sometimes they end with silly magic attacks and don't come along often enough.

Review by lord kallor (2004-12-18)
A great book. definatly, and so is the next and the next and the next. But then lo and behold you begin to realise that you just read book 6 and absolutly nothing memorably happened, thats right you have just read a whole book in which nothing happened, and you think damn and go on to the next and that next and soon discover that no its not just you, nothing is happening.

To cut a long story short, i have read and have all the current wheel of time books and they begin to drag on me more than a ball and chain. If this series was 5-6 even 7 books long I might have put up with them and put them up with my favorite series' but now they are just occupying valuble space and i still cant remember what happened in any of them bar the first 3.

But back to this book it is very good, bringing alive the world of the Wheel of Time and portraying an epic battle between socalled good and evil. On the down side this book (and series) has the most anoying charecarecters ever put down on paper, Elayne, all the Aes Sedai, Lan, Rand al Thor, Egwene, Perrin, the Wise ones, Aviendha, Min and everyone else, by the end of the series I had 0 sympathy for most of the charecters (apart from the dead forsaken perversly). Infact the only not annoying charecter is Mat and he's at the beck and call of the others for the whole series (why cant he just go kill something).

9/10

Review by TravelingDude (2003-07-12)
For me, the first book in a long series has always been the one that holds the fondest memories. The excitement of discovering a new world, new people -- even though they are fictional -- and an epic saga just begun is an experience rarely matched. The Wheel of Time is no different in this respect. Though I feel it's not actually the best book in the long series, it was for me the most fun. I could easily write pages and pages about the plot -- it takes up ten thousand pages after all -- but I'll suffice with a paragraph or two.

Long centuries ago, the world was a prosperous, happy place, where civilization was so far removed from barbarity that they did not even have a word for war. Nearly limitless power was in the hands of a chosen few, the Aes Sedai, who used it for the good of all people everywhere. This power was an endless supply of energy called The One Power that could be bent and shaped to the will of the wielder. There was both a male and a female side to this power, and each sex could tap into the respective side and only the most incredibly talented could even barely sense the other.

But the quest for knowledge can lead to evil even if those seeking it are relatively benign by nature. A few of the most talented of the Aes Sedai discovered a curious bubble-like object outside of the realm of normal time and space. Not knowing what it was, they bored a hole through it and released the Dark One, the personification of evil, into the world. Many of those who had been entrusted with ruling the world in its time of prosperity were corrupted by a newfound thirst for power. The awesome forces once used for the good of all were twisted into weapons of mass destruction. Thirteen of these became the Forsaken, minions of the Dark Lord who's power makes them almost gods unto themselves.

At great price, the most powerful of the remaining good Aes Sedai sealed the borehole, imprisoning the Dark One once again. Unfortunately, before the patch was complete, the Dark One tainted the male half of the Power, forcing all of those using it to go slowly insane. A few months after the end of the war, a cataclysm on an unprecedented scale struck the world, driven by hundreds of insane men unable to control themselves as they boiled seas, sunk continents and leveled mountains. Lews Therrin, the most powerful Aes Sedai to ever live, and the major reason the forces of Good won the war, dies in a horrible holocaust near the end of the cataclysm, ravaged by his own insanity and the crimes committed while under its influence. It is said that one day he will be reborn, fix the male half of the Power and save the world.

The Eye of the World begins a story that encompasses three youths in a small frontier town a thousand years after the cataclysm. Female Aes Sedai are now the overruling power in the world and males who can weild the Power are feared and hated, forcibly severed from the Power out of necessity.

The three youths, Rand, Mat and Perrin, are shocked when an Aes Sedai rides into their town. Forced by circumstance to flee with her, she sets in motion events that will force the three friends to separate corners of the world as they attempt to save all that they hold dear and the rest of civilization besides.

In this first novel in the series, they make their way towards the Eye of the World, a bastion of Power that may solve their problems and answer difficult questions even the Aes Sedai do not know the answers to.

Jordan's storytelling skills at this point in his life were nothing short of awesome. He engrosses the reader from the very first page all the way until the end of the book and leaves you craving for more. All of the characters are depicted with masterful skill so you feel about them exactly what you are supposed to feel. The Aes Sedai is the type of person who means to work for the good of all, but sometimes at the great cost of a few. She must be lauded for her actions, but is often despised for them as well. Aside from characters, Jordan's description of places and surroundings are legendary for their length and depth, and in this first book in the series he describes each scene with nearly perfect detail without going overboard. The series now encompassing almost a dozen novels, I only wish the same could be said all of them.

Perhaps Jordan's most amazing accomplishment is his propensity to insert a whole new plot element or surprise right as the reader is becoming comfortable with the status quo. Far from being annoying or frustrating, it only escalates the reader's sense of participation in the story and enhances the excitement and wonder at each turn of the page. Further, each of these plot threads is tied together perfectly and none seem out of place. His world is perhaps the most engrossing and enriched fantasy ever put to paper, and though there are competitors, this reviewer is tempted to say that he has not yet been matched.

Read the book. If you have even a middling interest in fantasy you will not be disappointed.

Review by LJOL (2003-06-29)
This is the best book in the Wheel of Time series. And it is a promising begining actually but the series gets worse with every book that follows, except maybe The Great Hunt wich is also good. It started out very good and I thought for a while that this was going to be one of the best fantasy series but not any more. Sword of Truth is better and A Song of Ice and Fire plays in a league of its own. And there is probably a buch of other fantasy works that beat this one too that I haven't read. I gave this book 8/10 and that it do deserve, but not a 9. Anyway, after a few books will the dragon reborn become too powerfull for his own good and the women becomes very irritating. I hate to read anything of the aes sedai because they are just too much to handle. And the pace of the books are to uneven, in the biggining they are boringly slow and Jordan keeps that pace for 400 to 500 pages or so and only turns upp the pace a little bit before that. Then the pace becomes very fast and you can hardly put the book away. That is no way to write a book.

But this book is good and the next two or three books after that is also good or readable. But after that it really gets out of hand. But someday I will read the books I have left too, if so only to get closeur.


Review by Peacee (2003-03-31)
Robert Jordan creates a masterpiece in this book...He creates a world full of excitement and adventure...the events, characters, and the magic are all
memorable.

I have just completed reading the Eye of the World for the 3rd time and it just keeps getting better.

Rand, Perrin, and Mat embark on a long adventure where we see small changes to the 3 main characters :)

I recommand this book for sure. :)

Review by Cid (2003-03-18)
This book is easily a classic. I gave it 9 out of 10 stars and they are well deserved. It kicked off the once great Wheel of Time series. It is a quick read and the females are bareable in this book actually. And Egewne is not just an annoying little brat. Go and read this now!!!

Review by dvogel (2003-03-08)
I am currently nearing the end of the third book in this series. The author spends a good portion of the books building, which pays off big in the end. I've found myself breathing heavily with a pounding heart during parts of these books. Not only is the author excellent at describing the settings, he is very in tune with the thoughts and feelings of a young adult male, which shows through wonderfully in the main character and his companions.

Review by MastaMark (2003-03-07)
As with what is sometimes true with Movies, I felt that the first of the series was the best. It seems the richest in description and storyline, and really sucks you in. Jordan rules in his ability to create the vibrant world his characters wander around in. I recommend this book, as well as the rest of the WoT series.

Review by dougthonus (2003-03-07)
The first 4 books to this series are awesome. By that point, you're probably sucked in so much that you have to read the next 6 despite the fact that they definitely slide downhill compared to the first. Many have said it seems like he's milking the series far too much, and that may be true. However, that aside, the only series I could really say I'd rank above the wheel of time is George R.R. Martin's sword of fire and ice series. The characters and world are richly developed, and you will easily find yourself getting drawn into the story. I think I read the first book (around 800 pages?) in about 4 days.




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use