The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       

Reviews of Hobbit, the (1937)

Review by g3n0v4h (2009-09-22)
The original fantasy adventure that birthed many conventions copied into contemporary concepts. Setting before the war of the ring in the LOTR it fleshes out as a children's story in that it is simple in nature and none haunting in historical happenings. Intriguingly the ring plays a small role in the story, but that's up to the reader to figure out while reading throughout the adventures.

Review by slyce23 (2007-10-24)
One of the best books I'd read back in elementary/middle school days. Tolkien's "children's novel" seems shallow at first glance, but truly is a rich book brimming with content for all ages. It is simple enough for younger audiences to understand, yet the plot has enough depth and well made characters to keep any age enthralled. Cleverly written, and sets the foundation for Tolkien's famous trilogy, which although still very well written, is slightly more tedious to read and does not flow quite as well as the Hobbit.

Through Clever Writing, Realistic Characters and personalities, and an amazingly detailed world, Tolkien has created a stunning "children's novel" that doesn't just appeal to kids. 9 out of 10.

Review by siriusspells (2006-03-20)
The book that started the whole series.

This is such a great book. You go on a great adventure with Bilbo Baggins and travel across middle earth. Great challenges await Bilbo, Gandalf and his new friends.

I was hooked to this book until I finished it and it is one of my personal favorites.

I definetly reccomend this book!

Review by oricsalad2001 (2005-08-06)
When I discovered Tolkien, firstly watching Peter Jackson's movies, I was so excited that I decided
to read his trilogy, the LOTR.After reading it, I wanted to know much more about him and I read
The Silmarillion and the Hobbit.Both of the books were extraordinary.Tolkien is extraordinary, by the
world he created, and the history he invented all by himself.
The Hobbit is actually the first Middle Earth novel, he wrote initially as a kind of fairytale for
his children.I liked most Tolkien's humouristic style in telling stories.He's ingenious.It is very
easy to read.I recommend this book to everyone.

Review by alanhunt (2003-09-12)
Although it is normally characterized as a children's book, I still think that this is the most enjoyable of Tolkien's middle earth novels. I read it for the first time when I was in third grade, and have read it again every four or five years. It is still as enjoyable now (20 some years later) as it was the first time I read it. The Lord Of The Rings, while undeniably a fantastic series, did tend to drag in parts, and wasn't very easy to get through for younger readers (I think I finished all three books the first time in my second or third reading of the series...), but the hobbit is an easy read and a good time for all.

Review by Beaver (2003-05-14)
The Hobbit is the the precursor to J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings series. It is more geared towards children and simpler and lighter in tone than the following trilogy. The writing in this book is not the greatest, but the adventures and the characters (especially Bilbo) are fun. This novel and the following trilogy really kick-started the whole fantasy genre. I first read this book and the following ones in 3rd or 4th grade. I've read them about three or four times and still enjoy them. 8/10

Review by nzilla (2003-03-12)
Just a wondeful book. I read it in two nights in the third grade; I just loved it that much. Not as epic as The Lord of the Rings, but a very nice little fantasy adventure. 8/10

Review by kevin42 (2003-03-12)
The Hobbit is often considered a "children's book" but I think that discourages many adults from reading it. It is a book as much for Adults with an imagination as it is a book for children. In fact, Tolkien himself said that he wished people would wait to read it until they were adults, because many people only read a book once, and he felt that adults could better appreciate the book.
The Hobbit is a very fun story, and critical background for anyone who wants to or already has read the Lord of the Ring series, or the movies.

Review by Jorapello (2003-03-09)
Tolkien's best book. Better altogether than the Lord of the Rings series. Like most fantasy, not particuarly deep or meaningful, but a fun read. . enjoyable and an excellent prelude to the Lord of the Rings.

Review by lmagarga (2003-03-08)
It is difficult to consider any of Tolkien's Middle Earth novels on the own, as they each represent but a small slice of his overall vision. Nevertheless, The Hobbit is a sublime work in its own right, and would stand forth as one of the great fantasy novels, even had the subsequent works never been written. Read it, enjoy it, find the Hobbit in yourself.

Review by nmayotte (2003-03-07)
This is the book that started it all. The Hobbit is the predecessor to the Lord of the rings trilogy. In this book you have Bilbo Baggins who is reluctantly brought along a journey with the dwarfs in search of a lost treasure that is protected by a dragon. This book is extremely well written. Its an exciting story with many different adventures. Bilbo is faced with many obsticles and this book shows how he was able to overcome his fears and face his challenges. Fortunately this book doesn't overemphasize the ring. Instead if focuses more on the emotions that Bilbo is experiencing. In the end its a wonderful book that on the surface seems to be just a feel good story, but in fact is a beautifully planed out adventure. Great book for people of all ages, 9 out of 10!




©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use