The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Oxford Book of Detective Stories, the

Oxford Book of Detective Stories, the (2000) [Anthology]
by Vincent Banville Jorge Luis Borges Gwendoline Butler Sarah Caudwell Raymond Chandler Agatha Christie Amanda Cross John Charles Dent Garry Disher Arthur Conan Doyle Ruth Dudley Edwards R. Austin Freeman Jacques Futrelle Erle Stanley Gardner Sue Grafton Dashiell Hammett Stuart M. Kaminsky Pentti Kirstilä Maurice Leblanc Paolo Levi William MacHarg Seicho Matsumoto James Melville Shizuko Natsuki Harvey J. O'Higgins Sara Paretsky Ellery Queen Ian Rankin Peter Robinson Palle Rosenkrantz Georges Simenon Josef Škvorecký James Thurber Janwillem van de Wetering Robert van Gulik Ted Wood Rating: Weighted - 6.2 / Average - 5.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Oxford Books of Prose

Summary (From the publisher):

The Oxford Book of Detective Stories is a thorough, broad, and representative collection of short stories intended to reflect the best of detective fiction from around the world. Drawing on works dating from the middle 1800s up to the present, editor Patricia Craig shows us how different nationalities have imposed their own stamp on this highly popular and relatively young literary genre. Alongside English and American fiction by such acknowledged masters as Ellery Queen, Dashiell Hammett, Erle Stanley Gardner, and Agatha Christie, we find stories by Georges Simenon, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sarah Paretsky, and Ian Rankin. The anthology roams across Europe and further afield to embrace Japan, Denmark, Holland, Italy, Argentina, Czechoslovakia, and other countries. This is a book that will delight any fan or student of detective fiction. Women detectives, police procedurals, the amateur sleuth, locked-room mysteries, and the classic or pioneering models of the genre are all represented here--and in her perceptive and inclusive introduction Craig examines the figure of the detective in international literature.


  • Missing! by Émile Gaboriau
  • The Gerrard Street Mystery by John Charles Dent
  • The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • A Mystery of the Sand-Hills by R. Austin Freeman
  • The Bridge That Broke by Maurice Leblanc
  • A Sensible Course of Action by Palle Rosenkrantz
  • Murder Makes It Worse by William MacHarg
  • The Stolen Rubens by Jacques Futrelle
  • The Marshall Murder by Harvey J. O’Higgins
  • No Crime in the Mountains by Raymond Chandler
  • The Case of the Irate Witness by Erle Stanley Gardner
  • The Adventure of the Egyptian Tomb by Agatha Christie
  • Death & Company by Dashiell Hammett
  • The Macbeth Murder Mystery by James Thurber
  • Death and the Compass by Jorge Luís Borges
  • Excerpt from Maigret’s Memoirs by Georges Simenon
  • “My Queer Dean!” by Ellery Queen
  • The Cooperative Defendant by Seicho Matsumoto
  • The Murder on the Lotus Pond by Robert van Gulik
  • The Ravine by Paolo Levi
  • Bloody Windsor by Gwendoline Butler
  • The Classic Semerák Case by Josef Skvorecký
  • Arrie and Jasper by Amanda Cross
  • The Deadly Egg by Janwillem van de Wetering
  • Pit Bull by Ted Wood
  • Santa-San Solves It by James Melville
  • Find Miriam by Stuart M. Kaminsky
  • Divine Punishment by Shizuko Natsuki
  • An Acquaintance with Mr. Collins by Sarah Caudwell
  • A Little Missionary Work by Sue Grafton
  • Body Count by Vincent Banville
  • Father Brown in Muncie, Indiana by Ruth Dudley Edwards
  • Dealer’s Choice by Sara Paretsky
  • Brown Eyes and Green Hair by Pentti Kirstilä
  • My Brother Jack by Garry Disher
  • Summer Rain by Peter Robinson
  • The Dean Curse by Ian Rankin

Original title: The Oxford Book of Detective Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysteryDetective Story and Detectives

The following works are contained within this one:
     Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle, the (1891) [Short Story]
      Author: Arthur Conan Doyle
     Death and the Compass (1942) [Short Story]
      Author: Jorge Luis Borges
     Dealer’s Choice (1988) [Short Story]
      Author: Sara Paretsky
     Find Miriam (1997) [Short Story]
      Author: Stuart M. Kaminsky

Edition #1: The Oxford Book of Detective Stories

The Oxford Book of Detective Stories (2000)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Patricia Craig
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Oxford Book of Detective Stories (December 2002)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Oxford
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780192803719
Dimensions: 5.4 x 8.4 x 1.4
Pages: 604

Add to my library

The Oxford Book of Detective Stories (May 2000)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Oxford
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780192880673
Dimensions: 5.5 x 8.4 x 2 in
Pages: 587
Notes: Cover: Stephen Conroy, detail from Living the Life, 1988

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use