The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Oryx and Crake

Oryx and Crake (2003) [Novel]
by Margaret Atwood Rating: Weighted - 7.4 / Average - 7.4 of 10 (23 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: 3 (show them) Review!

Series: MaddAddam Trilogy
Part: 1

Summary (From the publisher):

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

Original title: Oryx and Crake
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience FictionBleak FuturesNuclear Holocaust/Post-Apocalypse

Edition #1: Oryx and Crake

Oryx and Crake (2003)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Oryx and Crake (2003)

ISBN: 0385503857

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use