The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Five Great Short Stories

Five Great Short Stories (1992) [Collection]
by Jack London Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

"The White Silence"
"In a Far Country"
"An Odyssey of the North"
"The Seed of McCoy"
"The Mexican"

One of the most widely read of all American authors, Jack London (1876-1916) based his novels and stories on the experiences and observations of a life that took him from the frozen wilds of the Klondike to the sun-drenched atolls of the South Seas. This volume represents a selection of five of his best stories, each brimming with the energy, color and drive typical of London's vivid story-telling style.

"The White Silence," "In a Far Country" and "An Odyssey of the North" are suspensful tales that bring the harshness of the frozen wilderness of the north powerfully to life. "The Seed of McCoy" reflects London's experiences of a sailor in the South Pacific. The last story, "The Mexican," displays London's celebrated talents as a sportswriter in this sympathetic portrayal of a prizefighter working for the success of the Mexican Revolution. Here are five stories that epitomize Jack London's mastery of the adventure story and the compelling prose style that influenced generations of writers.

Original title: Five Great Short Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionAdventureWild Frontiers And Exotic Lands

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Five Great Short Stories

Five Great Short Stories (1992)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Five Great Short Stories (1992)

ISBN: 0486270637

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use