The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, the

Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, the (2011) [Collection]
by Joyce Carol Oates Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

An incomparable master storyteller in all forms, in The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares Joyce Carol Oates spins six imaginative tales of suspense. “The Corn Maiden” is the gut-wrenching story of Marissa, a beautiful and sweet but somewhat slow eleven-year-old girl with hair the color of corn silk. Her single mother comes home one night to find her missing and she panics. The police want to know why she left her young daughter alone until 8:00 p.m. With the confession that she’d been with a man, she knows she will be accused of neglect, or worse. Suspicion falls on a computer teacher at Marissa’s school who has no alibi. Obvious clues—perhaps too obvious—point directly to him. Unsuspected is Judah (born Judith), an older girl from the same school who has told two friends in her thrall of the Indian legend of the Corn Maiden, in which a girl is sacrificed to ensure a good crop.

The trusting Marissa goes happily to a secluded basement with the older girls, pleased to be included, and is then convinced that the world has ended and that they are the last survivors. Remaining an unaware hostage for days, she grows weaker on a sparse diet as Judah prepares her for sacrifice. Marissa’s seemingly inevitable fate becomes ever more terrifying as Judah relishes her power, giving the tale unbearable tension with a shocking conclusion.

In “Helping Hands,” published here for the first time, a lonely woman meets a man in the unlikely clutter of a dingy charity shop and extends friendship, which soon turns to quiet and unacknowledged desire. With the mind-set of a victim struggling to overcome her shyness and fears, she has no idea what kinds of doors she may be opening.

The powerful stories in this extraordinary collection further enhance Joyce Carol Oates’s standing as one of the world’s greatest writers of suspense.


  • The Corn Maiden
  • Beersheba
  • Nobody Knows My Name
  • Fossil-Figures
  • Death-Cup
  • Helping Hands
  • A Hole in the Head

Original title: The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysterySuspense

The following works are contained within this one:
     Nobody Knows My Name (1996) [Novelette]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Death Cup (1997) [Short Story]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Corn Maiden, the (2005) [Novella]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Hole in the Head, a (2010) [Novelette]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Beersheba (2010) [Short Story]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Fossil-Figures (2010) [Novelette]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates
     Helping Hands (2011) [Novelette]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates

Edition #1: The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares

The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares (2011)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares (November 2011)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York
Publisher: Mysterious Press
ISBN: 9780802126023
Pages: 365

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use