The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Curtain of Green and Other Stories, A

Curtain of Green and Other Stories, A (1941) [Collection]
by Eudora Welty Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

A CURTAIN OF GREEN is Eudora Welty's first collection of short stories, 17 in all and many of them set--like most of her work--in the South. These tales reflect Welty's famous "writer's eye," honed while she traveled Mississippi in the mid-1930s as a photographer for the WPA. Perhaps the most well-known stories here are "Why I Live at the P.O.," which features the hilariously self-pitying Sister, who chooses isolation and eccentricity over life with her family, and "Death of a Traveling Salesman," about the lonely life (and equally lonely death) of a shoe salesman named R.J. Bowman. The volume also includes "Lilly Daw and the Three Ladies," "Petrified Man," "A Piece of News," "Clytie," and "A Worn Path."

Original title: A Curtain of Green and Other Stories


No members of this collection were found in our database.

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use