The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: What Becomes

What Becomes (2009) [Collection]
by A. L. Kennedy Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

No one captures the spirit of our times like A. L. Kennedy, with her dark humour and brilliant evocation of contemporary social and spiritual malaise. These twelve stories are profound, intimate observations of men and women whose lives ache with possibility. They conceal tenderness and disappointment, vulnerability and longing, griefs and wonders -- and show us exactly what becomes of the broken-hearted.

In the title story, a man abandons his indifferent wife and wanders into a small-town movie theatre where he finds himself just as invisible as he was at home. In the masterfully comic "Saturday Teatime," a woman trying to relax in a flotation tank is hijacked by memories of her past. In "Whole Family with Young Children Devastated," a woman, inadvertently drawn into a stranger's marital dysfunction, meditates on the failings of modern life as seen through late-night television and early morning walks.

Devastating and funny, intimate and profound, the stories in What Becomes are further proof that A. L. Kennedy is one of the most dazzling and inventive writers of her generation.


  • What becomes
  • Wasps
  • Edinburgh
  • Saturday teatime
  • Confectioner's gold
  • Whole family with small children devastated
  • As God made us
  • Marriage
  • Story of my life
  • Sympathy
  • Another
  • Vanish

Original title: What Becomes
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: What Becomes

What Becomes (2009)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

What Becomes (2010)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Toronto, ON
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
ISBN: 9780887842412
Pages: 221

Add to my library

What Becomes (2009)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: London, UK
Publisher: Jonathan Cape
ISBN: 9780224077873
Pages: 218

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use