The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Seven Ages

Seven Ages (2001) [Collection]
by Louise Glück Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

The fierce, austerely beautiful, and visionary voice that has become Glück's trademark speaks in these poems of a life lived in unflinching awareness. Many of the poems in this collection bear the familiar features of Glück's earlier work, returning to themes of nature and the classical narratives that explain the phenomena of the world around us.

Unlike her past work, many of these poems inhabit the realm of dreams, moving backward in time to an eidetic, unrecoverable past and ahead to an as-yet unrealized future. "Earth was given to me in a dream/ In a dream I possessed it." In these poems, Glück is wry, dreamlike, idiomatic, undeceived, unrelenting.

This new transparent mode, although charged by the indelible imagery and exact phrasing her readers will recognize, represents an ecstatic departure from her previous work. Contents:

  • The Seven Ages
  • Moonbeam
  • The Sensual World
  • Mother and Child
  • Fable
  • Solstice
  • Stars
  • Youth
  • Exalted Image
  • Reunion
  • Radium
  • Birthday
  • Ancient Text
  • From a Journal
  • Island
  • The Destination
  • The Balcony
  • Copper Beech
  • Study of My Sister
  • August
  • Summer at the Beach
  • Rain in Summer
  • Civilization
  • Decade
  • The Empty Glass
  • Quince Tree
  • The Traveler
  • Arboretum
  • Dream of Lust
  • Grace
  • Fable
  • The Muse of Happiness
  • Ripe Peach
  • Unpainted Door
  • Mitosis
  • Eros
  • The Ruse
  • Time
  • Memoir
  • Saint Joan
  • Aubade
  • Screened Porch
  • Summer Night
  • Fable

Original title: Seven Ages
Original languages: English


Genre: PoetryVerse

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Seven Ages

Seven Ages (2001)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Seven Ages (April 2001)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780060933494
Pages: 80

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use