The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Ghost Quartet, the

Ghost Quartet, the (2008) [Anthology]
by Orson Scott Card Marvin Kaye Tanith Lee Brian Lumley Rating: Weighted - 6.2 / Average - 5.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Do you believe in ghosts?

You will after reading these original short novels from four of today’s best writers of the fantastic.

Brian Lumley, a Grand Master of Horror and author of the popular Necroscope series, opens the collection with the tense “A Place of Waiting.” The moors of Devon, England, are home to many ghosts, but none as fearsome as the red-eyed specter that refuses to accept his death. His only chance of release, however, comes at a terrible cost.

Orson Scott Card puts a new spin on one of literature’s most famous ghosts in “Hamlet’s Father.” What if the former King of Denmark was not killed by his treacherous brother for his crown, but by someone entirely unexpected as punishment for the darkest of crimes? Would his troubled son still seek revenge?

The patrons of an Edinburgh tavern are introduced to a beverage with an unusual history in “The Haunted Single Malt” by Marvin Kaye, a clever and spooky story about ghost stories and the people who love them.

Tanith Lee offers “Strindberg’s Ghost Sonata,” a chilling tale set in an alternate Russia. When a poor man is rescued from certain death by hospitable strangers, he discovers that he is not a guest in their haunted tenement building--he is a prisoner destined to become a sacrifice.


  • Introduction: Ghosts and Other Mortal Concerns By Marvin Kaye
  • A Place of Waiting by Brian Lumley
  • Hamlet’s Father by Orson Scott Card
  • The Haunted Single Malt by Marvin Kaye
  • Strindberg’s Ghost Sonata by Tanith Lee

Original title: The Ghost Quartet
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGhosts

The following works are contained within this one:
     Haunted Single Malt, the (2008) [Novella]
      Author: Marvin Kaye
     Strindberg's Ghost Sonata (2008) [Novella]
      Author: Tanith Lee
     Hamlet's Father (2008) [Novella]
      Author: Orson Scott Card
     Place of Waiting, a (2008) [Novella]
      Author: Brian Lumley

Edition #1: The Ghost Quartet

The Ghost Quartet (2008)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Marvin Kaye
Introduction by: Marvin Kaye
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Ghost Quartet (2008)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Tor Books
ISBN: 9780765312518
Pages: 303

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use