The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards

Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards (1989) [Anthology]
by Alice Adams Rick Bass T.C. (Thomas Coraghessan) Boyle John Casey Charles Dickinson Millicent Dillon Harriet Doerr Ernest J. Finney Starkey Flythe, Jr. Barbara Grizzuti Harrison Ellen Herman Banning K. Lary Susan Minot Joyce Carol Oates Catherine Petroski Jean Ross James Salter Frances Sherwood Charles Simmons David Foster Wallace Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: O. Henry Prize Stories, the
Part: 69

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

First Prize: Ernest J. Finney, "Peacocks"
Second Prize: Joyce Carol Oates, "House Hunting"
Third Prize: Harriet Doerr, "Edie: A Life"


  • Publisher’s Note
  • Introduction by William Abrahams
  • Peacocks by Ernest J. Finney
  • House Hunting by Joyce Carol Oates
  • Edie: A Life by Harriet Doerr
  • The Sky Fading Upward to Yellow: A Footnote to Literary History by Jean Ross
  • CV 10 by Starkey Flythe, Jr.
  • After You’re Gone by Alice Adams
  • History by Frances Sherwook
  • Death of a Duke by Banning K. Lary
  • Sinking House by T. Coraghessan Boyle
  • The Hit by Catherine Petroski
  • American Express by James Salter
  • Here and There by David Foster Wallace
  • Île Sèche by Susan Minot
  • Wrong Stories by Millicent DillonReview Win ’88
  • Clandestine Acts by Charles Simmons
  • Avid by John Casey
  • To Be by Barbara Grizzuti Harrison
  • The Watch by Rick Bass
  • Unstable Ground by Ellen Herman
  • Child in the Leaves by Charles Dickinson
  • Biographies and Some Comments by the Authors

Original title: Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

No members of this anthology were found in our database.

Edition #1: Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards

Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards (1989)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: William Abrahams
Introduction by: William Abrahams
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Prize Stories 1989: The O. Henry Awards (March 1989)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Anchor Books
ISBN: 9780385246347
Dimensions: 5.8 x 7.7 x 1.1 in
Pages: 387

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use