The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Collected Stories

Collected Stories (1984) [Collection]
by Gabriel García Márquez Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Collected here are twenty-six of Gabriel Garcia Marquez's most brilliant and enchanting short stories, presented in the chronological order of their publication in Spanish from three volumes: Eyes of a Blue Dog,Big Mama's Funeral, and The Incredible and Sad Tale of lnnocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother. Combining mysticism, history, and humor, the stories in this collection span more than two decades, illuminating the development of Marquez's prose and exhibiting the themes of family, poverty, and death that resound throughout his fiction.


  • Eyes of a Blue Dog
    • The Third Resignation
    • The Other Side of Death
    • Eva Is Inside Her Cat
    • Bitterness for Three Sleepwalkers
    • Dialogue with the Mirror
    • Eyes of a Blue Dog
    • The Woman Who Came at Six O’Clock
    • Nabo: The Black Man Who Made the Angels Wait
    • Someone Has Been Disarranging These Roses
    • The Night of the Curlews
    • Monologue of Isabel Watching It Rain in Macondo
  • Big Mama’s Funeral
    • Tuesday Siesta
    • One of These Days
    • There Are No Thieves in This Town
    • Balthazar’s Marvelous Afternoon
    • Montiel’s Widow
    • One Day After Saturday
    • Artificial Roses
    • Big Mama’s Funeral
  • The Incredible and Sad Tale Of Innocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother
    • A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings
    • The Sea of Lost Time
    • The Handsomest Drowned Man in the World
    • Death Constant Beyond Love
    • The Last Voyage of the Ghost Ship
    • Blacamán the Good, Vendor of Miracles
    • The Incredible and Sad Tale of Innocent Eréndira and Her Heartless Grandmother

Original title: Collected Stories
Original languages: Spanish


Genre: FictionFantasyLiterary FantasyMagical Realism
FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

The following works are contained within this one:
     Handsomest Drowned Man in the World, the (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Gabriel García Márquez
     Very Old Man with Enormous Wings, a (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Gabriel García Márquez

Edition #1: Collected Stories

Collected Stories (1984)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Gregory Rabassa J. S. Bernstein
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Collected Stories (1999)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780060932688
Pages: 343

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use