The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Know Nothing

Know Nothing (1960) [Novel]
by Mary Lee Settle Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Beulah Quintet
Part: 3

Summary (From the publisher):

Set in the decades preceding the Civil War, this third volume of the Beulah Quintet, Mary Lee Settle's saga about the roots of American culture, class, and identity and the meaning of freedom, tells the tragic tale of Peregrine Catlett and his second son, Johnny. The year 1837 brings a host of perils to the verdant Virginia valley where Peregrine, a third-generation American, is the owner of Beulah. Amid financial panic, debate over the abolition of slavery, and mounting tension between North and South, Peregrine considers freeing his slaves but believes that, with his children scattered, his only hope of retaining his livelihood rests on the use of slave labor. Tied to the land by a special bond, Johnny returns to his father's farm but stays only until the outbreak of hostilities. As a Confederate soldier, Johnny is aware of the tragedy to come. But family ties outweigh convictions, and he ends up fighting in the war with disastrous results.

Original title: Know Nothing
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalNorth AmericaAmerican Civil War
FictionGeneral FictionTies That BindMultigenerational Sagas

Edition #1: Know Nothing

Know Nothing (1960)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Know Nothing (March 1996)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Columbia, SC
Publisher: University of South Carolina Press
ISBN: 9781570031168
Dimensions: 5.54 x 8.04 x .96 in
Pages: 334

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use