The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Scapegoat, the

Scapegoat, the (1980) [Novel]
by Mary Lee Settle Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Beulah Quintet
Part: 4

Summary (From the publisher):

Set in 1912, this fourth volume of Beulah Quintet propels readers with astonishing immediacy to a fateful day in a coal miners' strike in which relatives of the Beulah dynasty, only dimly aware of their blood ties, confront one another on opposing sides of the dispute. Emotions escalate to a frenzy of violence as Mother Jones, leader of the striking miners, calls for action in a community devastated by Southern resignation and by guilt associated with selling out to Eastern investors.

Original title: The Scapegoat
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalNorth AmericaTwentieth Century
FictionGeneral FictionRural & Small Town Life

Edition #1: Scapegoat, the

Scapegoat, the (1980)
Edition Details:

Language: English

  • "In the Scapegoat Mary Lee Settle has added a fourth panel, and a vivid one, to her impressive frescoes of her native state." Malcolm Cowley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Scapegoat, the (March 1996)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Columbia, SC
Publisher: University of South Carolina Press
ISBN: 9781570031175
Dimensions: 5.52 x 8.02 x .81 in
Pages: 278

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use