The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: 11 Great Horror Stories

11 Great Horror Stories (1969) [Anthology]
by John Collier E. E. Evans Jack Finney L. P. Hartley Fielden Hughes Gerald Kersh H. P. Lovecraft Edgar Allan Poe A. E. Sanderling Bram Stoker Anthony Vercoe Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Wilbur Whateley's diary was not the ravings of a madman, The Dunwich Horror--huge, ravening, and invisible--was real!

Lock the doors, turn on all the lights and prepare to scare yourself silly!! Here are eleven of the world's greatest horror stories.


  • The Dunwich Horror by H. P. Lovecraft
  • The Oblong Box by Edgar Allan Poe
  • The Love Letter by Jack Finney
  • W. S. by L. P. Hartley
  • The Ape and the Mystery by Gerald Kersh
  • The Judge's House by Bram Stoker
  • Thus I Refute Beelzy by John Collier
  • Return of the Griffins by A. E. Sanderling
  • Flies by Anthony Vercoe
  • The Shed by E. E. Evans
  • The Mistake by Fielden Hughes

Original title: 11 Great Horror Stories, Including the Oblong Box and The Dunwich Horror
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorrorGeneral

The following works are contained within this one:
     Oblong Box, the (1844) [Short Story]
      Author: Edgar Allan Poe
     Dunwich Horror, the (1929) [Novelette]
      Author: H. P. Lovecraft

Edition #1: 11 Great Horror Stories

11 Great Horror Stories (1969)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Betty M. Owen
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

11 Great Horror Stories (April 1973)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: New York, NY
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 239
Notes: Scholastic #TK-1541
Seventh printing

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use