The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Science Fiction of Mark Clifton, the

Science Fiction of Mark Clifton, the (1980) [Collection]
by Mark Clifton Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (IBList user synopsis):

Collects 11 of the 20 short stories Mark Clifton published. Clifton's technique: use a first person narrator to establish trust with an audience, then write on some of the most far-fetched, implausible themes possible, such as poltergeists, alien beings, ESP, and travel through space and time without a space ship. One of the reasons Clifton's work is so believable is that he appears (from his correspondence with Judith Merril, some of which is reproduced in the introduction) to have held a serious and sincere belief in the possibility of what he was writing about, particularly that a race of humans with telekinetic powers would soon emerge and replace homo sapiens.


  • What Have I done?
  • Star, Bright
  • Crazy Joey
  • What Thin Partitions
  • Sense from Thought Divide
  • How Allied
  • Remembrance and Reflection
  • Hide! Hide! Witch!
  • Clerical Error
  • What Now, Little Man?
  • Hang Head, Vandal!

Original title: The Science Fiction of Mark Clifton
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience FictionSpecies EvolutionPsionic Powers

The following works are contained within this one:
     What Have I Done? (1952) [Short Story]
      Author: Mark Clifton

Edition #1: The Science Fiction of Mark Clifton

The Science Fiction of Mark Clifton (1980)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Barry N. Malzberg Martin H. Greenberg
Introduction by: Judith Merril
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Science Fiction of Mark Clifton (1980)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: Carbondale, IL
Publisher: Southern Illinois University Press
ISBN: 0809309858
Pages: 296

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use