The Internet Book List - Spread the word
       


Book Information: Returning to Earth

Returning to Earth (2006) [Novel]
by Jim Harrison Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Slowly dying of Lou Gehrig's Disease, Donald, a middle-aged Chippewa-Finnish man, begins dictationg family stories he has never shared with anyone, hoping to preserve history for his children. The dignity of Donald's death and his legacy encourages his loved ones to find a way to redeem, and let go of, the past, whether through his daughter's emersion in Chippewa religious ideas or his mourning wife's attempt to escape the malevolent influence of her own father.

Original title: Returning to Earth
Original languages: English

Quotes:

Genre: FictionGeneral FictionEthnic And MulticulturalNative American
FictionGeneral FictionTragedy And Loss

Edition #1: Returning to Earth

Returning to Earth (2006)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Blurbs:
  • "A master...who makes the ordinary extraordinary, the unnamable unforgettable." The New York Times Book Review
  • "A deeply felt meditation on life and death, nature and God, this is one of Harrison's finest works." Library Journal
  • "Death remains a mystery, as Harrison explores the meaning it gives to life." Kirkus Reviews
  • "In the tradition of Louise Erdrich and Thomas McGuane, Harrison displays a seemingly effortless ability to present abstract issues in earthy, muscular prose." Booklist
  • "A watershed work for Harrison. More than his earlier fiction, it examines the powers of love and commitment to reconcile loss and death, and to heal wounds borne for generations." Seattle Times
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!


Manifested in:

Returning to Earth (November 27, 2006)

Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Grove Press
ISBN: 9780802118387
Dimensions: 8.94 x 5.42 x .95 in
Pages: 272

Add to my library



©Steven Jeffery / IBList.com, 2012
Terms of Use