The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Bruce Trilogy, the

Bruce Trilogy, the (1985) [Omnibus Volume]
by Nigel Tranter Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

In a world of treachery and violence, Scotland's most famous hero unites his people in a deadly fight for national survival.

In 1296 Edward Plantagenet, King of England, was determined to bludgeon the freedom-loving Scots into submission. Despite internal clashes and his fierce love for his antagonists goddaughter, Robert the Bruce, both Norman lord and Celtic earl, took up the challenge of leading his people against the invaders from the south.

After a desperate struggle, Bruce rose finally to face the English at the memorable battle of Bannockburn. But far from bringing peace, his mighty victory was to herald fourteen years of infighting, savagery, heroism and treachery before the English could be brought to sit at a peace-table and to acknowledge Bruce as a sovereign king.

In this trilogy, Nigel Tranter charts these turbulent years, revealing the flowering of Bruce's character; how, tutored and encouraged by the heroic William Wallace, he determined to continue the fight for an independent Scotland, sustained by a passionate love for his land and devotion to his people.


  • The Steps to the Empty Throne
  • The Path of the Hero King
  • The Price of the King's Peace

Original title: The Bruce Trilogy
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalEuropeanMedieval
FictionHistoricalEuropeanBritish IslesScotland
FictionHistoricalFictional Biography

No members of this omnibus volume were found in our database.

Edition #1: Bruce Trilogy, the

Bruce Trilogy, the (1985)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Bruce Trilogy, the (March 1, 1985)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London
Publisher: Coronet
ISBN: 9780340371862
Dimensions: 5 x 7.7 x 2.3 in
Pages: 1047

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use