The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Fantasy Hall of Fame, the

Fantasy Hall of Fame, the (1983) [Anthology]
by Ambrose Bierce Robert Bloch Ray Bradbury Avram Davidson L. Sprague de Camp Lord Dunsany Harlan Ellison Robert E. Howard Cyril M. Kornbluth Henry Kuttner Ursula K. Le Guin Fritz Leiber H. P. Lovecraft Abraham Merritt Michael Moorcock Catherine Lucille (C.L.) Moore Edgar Allan Poe Clark Ashton Smith Theodore Sturgeon Jack Vance Manly Wade Wellman Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

"Ballots were distributed asking the (World Fantasy) convention members to name their favourites, elaborate tabulation processes were performed, and here at last we have, in one volume, the finest stories of all time."

Edited by Robert Silverberg and Martin H. Greenberg


  • Introduction by Robert Silverberg
  • The Masque of the Red Death by Edgar Allan Poe (1842)
  • An Inhabitant of Carcosa by Ambrose Bierce (1886)
  • The Sword of Welleran by Lord Dunsany (1908)
  • The Women of the Wood by A. Merritt (1926)
  • The Weird of Avoosl Wuthoqquan by Clark Ashton Smith (1932)
  • The Valley of the Worm by Robert E. Howard (1934)
  • Black God’s Kiss by C.L. Moore (1934)
  • The Silver Key by H.P. Lovecraft (1937)
  • Nothing in the Rules by L. Sprague de Camp (1939)
  • A Gnome There Was by Henry Kuttner (1941)
  • Snulbug by Anthony Boucher (1941)
  • The Words of Guru by C.M. Kornbluth (1941)
  • Homecoming by Ray Bradbury (1946)
  • Mazirian the Magician by Jack Vance (1950)
  • O Ugly Bird! by Manly Wade Wellman (1951)
  • The Silken-Swift by Theodore Sturgeon (1953)
  • The Golem by Avram Davidson (1955)
  • That Hell-Bound Train by Robert Bloch (1958)
  • Kings in Darkness by Michael Moorcock (1962)
  • Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes by Harlan Ellison (1967)
  • Gonna Roll the Bones by Fritz Leiber (1967)
  • The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin (1973)

Original title: The Fantasy Hall of Fame
Alternative titles: The Mammoth Book of Fantasy All-Time Greats
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy

The following works are contained within this one:
     Masque of the Red Death, the (1842) [Short Story]
      Author: Edgar Allan Poe
     Inhabitant of Carcosa, an (1886) [Short Story]
      Author: Ambrose Bierce
     Sword of Welleran, the (1908) [Short Story]
      Author: Lord Dunsany
     Woman of the Wood, the (1926) [Short Story]
      Author: Abraham Merritt
     Silver Key, the (1929) [Short Story]
      Author: H. P. Lovecraft
     Weird of Avoosl Wuthoqquan, the (1932) [Short Story]
      Author: Clark Ashton Smith
     Nothing in the Rules (1939) [Short Story]
      Author: L. Sprague de Camp
     Gnome There Was, a (1941) [Novelette]
      Authors: Henry Kuttner , Catherine Lucille (C.L.) Moore
     Homecoming, the (1946) [Short Story]
      Author: Ray Bradbury
     Golem, the (1955) [Short Story]
      Author: Avram Davidson
     That Hell-Bound Train (1958) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert Bloch
     Kings in Darkness (1962) [Short Story]
      Author: Michael Moorcock
     Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes (1967) [Novelette]
      Author: Harlan Ellison
     Gonna Roll the Bones (1967) [Novelette]
      Author: Fritz Leiber
     Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas, the (1973) [Short Story]
      Author: Ursula K. Le Guin

Edition #1: Fantasy Hall of Fame, the

Fantasy Hall of Fame, the (1983)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Robert Silverberg Martin H. Greenberg
Introduction by: Robert Silverberg
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Mammoth Book of Fantasy All-Time Greats (1988)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London
Publisher: Robinson
ISBN: 0948164719
Pages: 431

Add to my library

Fantasy Hall of Fame, the (October 1983)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York
Publisher: Arbor House
ISBN: 0877955212
Pages: 431

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use