The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Golden Gong & Other Night-Pieces & Unpleasantries, the

Golden Gong & Other Night-Pieces & Unpleasantries, the (2001) [Collection]
by Thomas Burke Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

"My encounters in this city of all souls have been amusing, stimulating, ludicrous, beautiful, disturbing, and queer." Thus wrote Thomas Burke (1886–1945), referring to the people, places, and things of London; or, more specifically, the area of London known as Limehouse, which in Burke's youth was the haunt of sailors, dock-workers, and Chinese immigrants. It was a world of sights and sounds that entranced and enthralled the young boy, who would wander at will through its crowded streets, welcomed by the inhabitants and drinking in their language, customs, and traditions. In 1916 he published Limehouse Nights, a collection of tales based on his experiences in the district; but he was saddened to find that the world of which he had written had already, for the most part, disappeared.

Burke was always fascinated by the dark underside of life, and this found expression in many of his tales, which feature the uncanny, the outré, and the grotesque. In The Golden Gong, Jessica Amanda Salmonson has gathered together twenty-one of Burke’s tales of the weird and the supernatural, including such classics as 'The Hands of Mr Ottermole' and 'The Hollow Man'. Also included is a reminiscence by publisher Grant Richards, who recognised the brilliance of Limehouse Nights after it had been turned down by several other publishers; and in an extensive introduction, Salmonson looks at the colourful, and sometimes contradictory, life of Thomas Burke.


  • Introduction: The Tenderly Sadistic Vision of Thomas Burke by Jessica Amanda Salmonson
  • The Golden Gong
  • Scarlet Shoes
  • The Bird
  • The Tablets of the House of Li
  • White Wings
  • The Hands of Mr. Ottermole
  • The Yellow Imps
  • Desirable Villa
  • The Secret of Francesco Shedd
  • Miracle in Suburbia
  • Yesterday Street
  • Uncle Ezekiel's Long Sight
  • The Horrible God
  • Johnson Looked Back
  • The Black Courtyard
  • The Gracious Ghosts
  • The Man Who Lost His Head
  • The Lonely Inn
  • Events at Wayless-Wagtail
  • The Bloomsbury Wonder
  • The Hollow Man
  • Afterword: Grant Richards’s Reminiscence of Thomas Burke

Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysterySuspense
FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

The following works are contained within this one:
     Hands of Mr. Ottermole, the (1929) [Novelette]
      Author: Thomas Burke
     Bloomsbury Wonder, the (1929) [Novelette]
      Author: Thomas Burke
     Hollow Man, the (1933) [Short Story]
      Author: Thomas Burke
     Lonely Inn, the (1935) [Short Story]
      Author: Thomas Burke
     Man Who Lost His Head, the (1935) [Short Story]
      Author: Thomas Burke
     Johnson Looked Back (1935) [Short Story]
      Author: Thomas Burke

Edition #1: The Golden Gong & Other Night-Pieces & Unpleasantries

The Golden Gong & Other Night-Pieces & Unpleasantries (2001)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Jessica Amanda Salmonson
Introduction by: Jessica Amanda Salmonson
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Golden Gong & Other Night-Pieces & Unpleasantries (2001)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: Ashcroft, British Columbia
Publisher: Ash-Tree Press
ISBN: 1553100204
Pages: 195

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use