The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: More Shapes Than One

More Shapes Than One (1991) [Collection]
by Fred Chappell Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

These thirteen tales are populated by an assortment of fictional as well as real characters, all of them vividly sketched and true-to-life: the botanist Linnaeus, the composer Offenbach, the poet Hart Crane, the visionary horror writer H. P. Lovecraft, a southern sheriff, a dealer in rare books, a country singer, an old maid (and her suitor), and a mathematician. Whether these stories are deemed disquieting, comic, prophetic, or tall in the telling, they show us worlds where the truth reveals itself in many shapes. Throughout the writings comprising More Shapes Than One, Fred Chappell's storytelling magic transforms the commonplace.


  • Linnaeus Forgets
  • The Snow That Is Nothing in the Triangle
  • Barcarole
  • Weird Tales
  • The Somewhere Doors
  • The Adder
  • Ember
  • Duet
  • Miss Prue
  • Mankind Journeys Through Forests of Symbols
  • Alma
  • After Revelation

Original title: More Shapes Than One: A Book of Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionFantasy

The following works are contained within this one:
     Adder, the (1989) [Short Story]
      Author: Fred Chappell
     Somewhere Doors, the (1991) [Short Story]
      Author: Fred Chappell

Edition #1: More Shapes Than One

More Shapes Than One (1991)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

More Shapes Than One (1992)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 0312082657
Pages: 208

Add to my library

More Shapes than One (1991)

Format: Hardcover
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 0312064187
Pages: 197

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use