The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Later Short Stories 1888-1903

Later Short Stories 1888-1903 (1999) [Collection]
by Anton Chekhov Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

This volume presents forty-two of Chekhov's later short stories, written between 1888 and 1903, in acclaimed translations by Constance Garnett and chosen by Shelby Foote. Among the most outstanding are "A Dreary Story," a dispassionate tale that reflects Chekhov's doubts about his role as an artist. Thomas Mann deemed it "a truly extraordinary, fascinating story . . . unlike anything else in world literature." "The Darling," a delightful work highly admired by Tolstoy, offers comic proof that life has no meaning without love. And in "The Lady with the Dog," which Vladimir Nabokov called "one of the greatest stories ever written," a chance affair takes possession of a bored young woman and a cynical roué, changing their lives forever. Also included in this collection are the famous trilogy, "The Man in a Case," "Gooseberries," and "About Love," as well as "Sleepy," "The Horse-Stealers," and "Betrothed."


  • Sleepy
  • The Beauties
  • The Party
  • The Shoemaker and the Devil
  • The Bet
  • A Nervous Breakdown
  • The Princess
  • The Horse-Stealers
  • Gusev
  • Peasant Wives
  • The Grasshopper
  • After the Theatre
  • In Exile
  • Neighbours
  • Terror
  • The Helpmate
  • The Two Volodyas
  • Rothschild's Fiddle
  • The Student
  • The Teacher of Literature
  • At a Country House
  • The Head-Gardener's Story
  • Whitebrow
  • "Anna on the Neck"
  • Ariadne
  • An Artist's Story
  • The Petchenyeg
  • At Home
  • The Schoolmistress
  • The Man in a Case
  • Gooseberries
  • About Love
  • Ionitch
  • A Doctor's Visit
  • A Dreary Story
  • The Darling
  • The New Villa
  • On Official Duty
  • The Lady with the Dog
  • At Christmas Time
  • The Bishop
  • Betrothed

Original languages: Russian


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

The following works are contained within this one:
     Party, the (1888) [Novella]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Boring Story (From an Old Man's Notebook), a (1889) [Short Story]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Ariadne (1895) [Short Story]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Anna on the Neck (1895) [Short Story]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Ionych (1898) [Short Story]
      Author: Anton Chekhov
     Lady with the Lapdog, the (1899) [Short Story]
      Author: Anton Chekhov

Edition #1: Later Short Stories 1888-1903

Later Short Stories 1888-1903 (1999)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Constance Garnett
Edited by: Shelby Foote
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Later Short Stories 1888-1903 (1999)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: New York
Publisher: Modern Library
ISBN: 0679603166
Pages: 628

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use