The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Averno

Averno (2006) [Collection]
by Louise Glück Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Averno is a small crater lake in southern Italy, regarded by the ancient Romans as the entrance to the underworld. That place gives its name to Louise Glück’s eleventh collection: in a landscape turned irretrievably to winter, it is the only source of heat and light, a gate or passageway that invites traffic between worlds while at the same time opposing their reconciliation. Averno is an extended lamentation, its long, restless poems no less spellbinding for being without plot or hope, no less ravishing for being savage, grief-stricken. What Averno provides is not a map to a point of arrival or departure, but a diagram of where we are, the harrowing, enduring presence.


  • The Night Migrations
  • October
  • Persephone the Wanderer
  • Prism
  • Crater Lake
  • Echoes
  • Fugue
  • The Evening Star
  • Landscape
  • A Myth of Innocence
  • Archaic Fragment
  • Blue Rotunda
  • A Myth of Devotion
  • Averno
  • Omens
  • Telescope
  • Thrush
  • Persephone the Wanderer

Original title: Averno
Original languages: English


Genre: PoetryVerse

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Averno

Averno (2006)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Averno (2006)

Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 0374107424
Pages: 96

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use