The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Year's Best Science Fiction, the

Year's Best Science Fiction, the (1969) [Anthology]
by Isaac Asimov Stephen Goldin Fritz Leiber John D. MacDonald David I. Masson K.M. O'Donnell J. R. Pierce Kit Reed Mack Reynolds Bob Shaw Robert Sheckley Robert Silverberg Theodore Sturgeon Rating: Weighted - 6.2 / Average - 5.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

This volume contains some of the best science fiction stories published recently in this country. They have been selected by two outstanding writers and anthologists. Among the contributors are:

  • Isaac Asimov
  • Fritz Leiber
  • Robert Silverberg
  • Bob Shaw
  • Robert Sheckley
  • Introduction by Harry Harrison
  • Afterword by Brian Aldiss
Also included in this book is a valuable introduction to each story by the editors and an unusual feature on the merits of the remarkable science fiction feature film 2001: A Space Odyssey.


  • Introduction by Harry Harrison
  • Budget Planet by Robert Sheckley
  • Appointment on Prila by Bob Shaw
  • Lost Ground by David I. Masson
  • The Rime of the Ancient SF Author, Or Conventions and Recollections by J.R. Pierce
  • The Annex by John D. MacDonald
  • Segregationist by Isaac Asimov
  • Final War by K.M. O'Donnell
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey - Some Selected Reviews by Lester del Rey, Samuel R. Delany, Ed Emshwiller, Leon E. Stover
  • Golden Acres by Kit Reed
  • Criminal in Utopia by Mack Reynolds
  • One Station of the Way by Fritz Leiber
  • Sweet Dreams, Melissa by Stephen Goldin
  • To the Dark Star by Robert Silverberg
  • Like Young by Theodore Sturgeon
  • Afterword - The House that Jules Built by Brian W. Aldiss

Original title: The Year's Best Science Fiction
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Budget Planet (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert Sheckley
     Sweet Dreams, Melissa (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Stephen Goldin
     Final War (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: K.M. O'Donnell
     Segregationist (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Isaac Asimov
     To the Dark Star (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Robert Silverberg
     Golden Acres (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Kit Reed
     Appointment on Prila (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Bob Shaw
     Like Young (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Theodore Sturgeon
     Criminal in Utopia (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Mack Reynolds
     Lost Ground (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: David I. Masson
     One Station of the Way (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: Fritz Leiber
     Annexe, the (1968) [Short Story]
      Author: John D. MacDonald

Edition #1: The Year's Best Science Fiction

The Year's Best Science Fiction (1969)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Brian W. Aldiss Harry Harrison
Illustrated by: Harry Harrison
Introduction by: Harry Harrison
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

The Year's Best Science Fiction (1977)

Format: Hardcover
Place of publication: London, UK
Publisher: Severn House
ISBN: 0727803158
Dimensions: 5.1 x 8.2 x 0.9 in
Pages: 207

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use