The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Small Avalanches

Small Avalanches (2003) [Collection]
by Joyce Carol Oates Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

When the sky blue ball comes soaring over the fence, a high-school girl is confronted with the haunting memory of her childhood. A jealous teen lets her cousin go off alone with a dangerous capricorn, aware of the terrifying possibilities. A vulnerable young girl cunningly outwits a menacing stranger and exults in her newfound power, surviving the first of many small avalanches.

Intense and unnerving, uplifting and triumphant, the twelve stories in this riveting collection explore the fateful consequences of the choices we make in our everyday lives.


  • Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?
  • The Sky Blue Ball
  • Small Avalanches
  • Haunted
  • Bad Girls
  • How I Contemplated the World...
  • Shot
  • Why Donít You Come Live with Me Itís Time
  • Life after High School
  • Capricorn
  • The Wisit
  • The Model

Original title: Small Avalanches and Other Stories
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionChildren & Young AdultTeens

The following works are contained within this one:
     Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been? (1966) [Short Story]
      Author: Joyce Carol Oates

Edition #1: Small Avalanches

Small Avalanches (2003)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Small Avalanches (2004)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 0060012196
Pages: 390

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use