The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Children and Fools

Children and Fools (1992) [Collection]
by Erich Fried Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Children and Fools is the first publication of Fried's stories in English. In style they range from fable to autobiography. In time they move from earliest memories of the untrustworthiness of adults to exile in blacked-out, wartime London.

From his spare account of St George's fight with the dragon to his realistic reportage on the third Reich, 'My Doll in Auschwitz', these pieces are tied together by a vehement anti-war sentiment and a delight in language. Fried's cunning sense of humour and fairy tale narratives are his way of dealing with devastating personal history of dislocation and persecution.


  • Atonement
  • St. George and His Dragon
  • Father of All Things
  • Deliverance
  • Miss Groschel
  • The Running Jump
  • Hounded to Death
  • The Only Difficult Thing
  • Tortoise Turning
  • My Doll in Auschwitz
  • What the Facts Were
  • The Big Show
  • The Patriotic Fitting
  • The Artificers
  • The Green Suite
  • "Surrenderedness"
  • The True Borges
  • Small Animal Hunt on the Nile
  • Repellent
  • Balance
  • Neither Fish nor Flesh
  • The Real
  • Kobenhavns Amts Sygehus Gentofte
  • The Stork
  • Wunderkind Time
  • The Great Day of Linz
  • My Heroic Age
  • My Resistance Group
  • The Unworthy Families
  • The Commission
  • Three Library Users
  • Lazonen
  • Fini
  • Comfort

Original title: Children and Fools
Original languages: German


Genre: FictionGeneral Fiction

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Children and Fools

Children and Fools (1992)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Martin Chalmers
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Children and Fools (1992)

ISBN: 1852422114

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use