The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Loss, the

Loss, the (1998) [Collection]
by Vladimir Makanin Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

The novella and two short stories that make up this volume were written at three different periods in Makanin's life, yet they are united by their narrative and stylistic invention, their range of human emotion, and the profound humanity of their prose. Though banished and suppressed in the Brezhnev era, Makanin is now recognized as one of Russia's leading writers.

In his celebrated short story "The Prisoner of the Caucasus," two Russian soldiers take a Chechen prisoner during the war, and as events unfold, Makanin reveals the casual brutality of the war but also the secret truths of the character's lives. In the novella The Loss, Pekalov, a drunkard and dreamer obsessed with the idea of building a tunnel under the Ural River, disappears in a ditch while working and is made a saint by the people of his village. "Klyucharyov and Alimushkin" tells the story of what happens when one man becomes remarkably lucky while the other loses all his luck.

Original title: The Loss: A Novella and two Stories
Original languages: Russian


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionRegional Interest

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Loss, the

Loss, the (1998)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Byron Lindsey
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Loss, the (July 22, 1998)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Northwestern University Press
ISBN: 9780810116405
Dimensions: 4.7 x 8 x 0.5
Pages: 154

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use