The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mayakovsky: Plays

Mayakovsky: Plays (1995) [Collection]
by Vladimir Mayakovsky Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

One of Russia's greatest poets, Vladimir Mayakovsky (1893-1930) was a Futurist, early Bolshevik, and champion of the avant-garde. Despite his revolutionary youth, he became increasingly disillusioned with Soviet society, and three of his plays--all banned until after Stalin's death--reflect his changing assessments of the Revolution.

Mayakovsky: Plays includes Mystery Bouffe, a mock medieval mystery written in 1918 to celebrate the first anniversary of the Revolution; The Bathhouse, a sharp attack on Soviet bureaucracy subtitled "a drama of circus and fireworks"; and The Bedbug, in which a worker with bourgeois pretensions is frozen and resurrected fifty years later, when the world has become a material paradise. The collection also includes Mayakovsky's more personal first play, Vladimir Mayakovsky: A Tragedy.

Original title: Mayakovsky: Plays
Original languages: Russian


Genre: Drama and PlaysRussian

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Mayakovsky: Plays

Mayakovsky: Plays (1995)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: Guy Daniels
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Mayakovsky: Plays (1995)

ISBN: 0810113392

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use