The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19, the

Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19, the (2006) [Anthology]
by Neal Asher Paolo Bacigalupi Stephen Baxter Elizabeth Bear Chris Beckett David Gerrold Dominic Green Joe Haldeman Gwyneth Jones James Patrick Kelly Ken MacLeod Ian McDonald Vonda N. McIntyre David Moles Derryl Murphy Steven Popkes Robert Reed Alastair Reynolds Mary Rosenblum William Sanders Bruce Sterling Michael Swanwick Harry Turtledove Peter Watts Liz Williams Gene Wolfe Rating: Weighted - 6.7 / Average - 6.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Widely regarded as the benchmark anthology for every science fiction fan, this brilliant annual continues to uphold the series' standard of excellence with 30 stories all written within the last year.

Here are cutting-edge works from bright new talents, as well as by established writers - surprising, entertaining or innovative, but always accomplished. It covers every aspect of the genre - soft, hard, cyberpunk, cyber noir, anthropological, military and adventure.

Includes stories by Michael Swanwick, Stephen Baxter, Neal Asher, Gwyneth Jones, Robert Reed, Joe Haldeman, Alastair Reynolds, and many more.

Also features the editor's usual thorough summations of the year's events and a recommended reading list.

This anthology contains the following stories and articles:

  • Acknowledgements
  • Summation: 2005
  • The Little Goddess by Ian McDonald
  • The Calorie Man by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Beyond the Aquila Rift by Alastair Reynolds
  • Second Person, Present Tense by Daryl Gregory
  • The Canadian Who Came Almost All the Way Back from the Stars by Jay Lake and Ruth Nestvold
  • Triceratops Summer by Michael Swanwick
  • Camouflage by Robert Reed
  • A Case of Conscilience by Ken MacLeod
  • The Blemmye's Strategem by Bruce Sterling
  • Amba by William Sanders
  • Search Engine by Mary Rosenblum
  • Piccadilly Circus by Chris Beckett
  • In the Quake Zone by David Gerrold
  • La Malcontenta by Liz Williams
  • The Children of Time by Stephen Baxter
  • Little Faces by Vonda McIntyre
  • Comber by Gene Wolfe
  • Audubon in Atlantis by Harry Turtledove
  • Deus ex Homine by Hannu Rajaniemi
  • The Great Caruso by Steven Popkes
  • Softly Spoke the Gabbleduck by Neal Asher
  • Zima Blue by Alastair Reynolds
  • Planet of the Amazon Women by David Moles
  • The Clockwork Atom Bomb by Dominic Green
  • Gold Mountain by Chris Roberson
  • The Fulcrum by Gwyneth Jones
  • Mayfly by Peter Watts and Derryl Murphy
  • Two Dreams on Trains by Elizabeth Bear
  • Angel of Light by Joe Haldeman
  • Burn by James Patrick Kelly
  • Honourable Mentions
Edited by Gardner Dozois

Original title: The Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

The following works are contained within this one:
     Two Dreams on Trains (2005) [Short Story]
      Author: Elizabeth Bear
     Burn (2006) [Novella]
      Author: James Patrick Kelly

Edition #1: Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19, the

Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19, the (2006)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Gardner R. Dozois
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Mammoth Book of Best New SF 19, the (2006)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London, UK
Publisher: Robinson
ISBN: 9781845294236
Dimensions: 5.0 x 7.7 x 2.0
Pages: 721

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use