The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Shikasta

Shikasta (1979) [Novel]
by Doris Lessing Rating: Weighted - 6.2 / Average - 5.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Canopus in Argos: Archives
Part: 1

Summary (From the publisher):

The first novel, Re: Colonised Planet 5, Shikasta, encompasses millions of years of Earth's evolution and uses several contrasting styles and manners to do it, from the manic stupidities of "the Devil," to the lofty ruminations of "the Gods," but Lessing is also able to write the simple and sorrowful story of a single teen-age girl, whirled out of her little limitations by the world's cataclysms.

This book is completely different from anything she has written before. The second novel in the series (to be published shortly) - The Marriages Between Zones Three, Four and Five - is again different, resembling a fable, a legend of the simplest and even the most classic sort. The third novel in the sequence, The Sirian Experiments, makes the most radical departure. It is told in the voice of a female official of the Empire of Sirius, a bureaucrat by nature and by thousands of years of experience, whose personal odyssey carries her into a new understanding of cosmic evolution.

Original title: Re: Colonised Planet 5, Shikasta
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

Edition #1: Shikasta

Shikasta (1979)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Shikasta (August 12, 1981)

Format: Paperback
Publisher: Vintage Books
ISBN: 0394749774
Dimensions: 5.4 x 8.3 x 1.0
Pages: 384

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use