The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Gladiator Dies Only Once, a

Gladiator Dies Only Once, a (2005) [Collection]
by Steven Saylor Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Roma Sub Rosa
Part: 11

Summary (From the publisher):

Set between the events of his novels Roman Blood and Catilina's Riddle, these previously untold adventures range from a twisted search for truth behind a threatening blind item in the Daily Acts ("The Consul's Wife") and a kidnapping and murder during the revolt of Sertorius ("The White Fawn") to the story behind Cicero's discovery of Archmedes's tomb ("Archimedes's Tomb") and a perplexing domestic situation in Gordianus's own home ("If a Cyclops Could Vanish in a Glimpse of an Eye").

These tales from the early career of Gordianus - when his adopted son, Eco, was still a mute boy and his wife, Bethesda, was but his slave - will delight Steven Saylor's many fans while illuminating the details of the ancient world.


  • The Consul's Wife
  • If a Cyclops Could Vanish in the Blink of an Eye
  • The White Fawn
  • Something Fishy in Pompeii
  • Archimedes's Tomb
  • Death by Eros
  • A Gladiator Dies Only Once
  • Poppy and the Poisoned Cake
  • The Cherries of Lucullus
  • The Life and Times of Gordianus the Finder: a Partial Chronology

Original title: A Gladiator Dies Only Once: The Further Investigations of Gordianus the Finder
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysteryDetective Story and DetectivesHistorical
FictionHistoricalAncient World (Greece, Rome, etc)Rome

The following works are contained within this one:
     Gladiator Dies Only Once, a (2003) [Novella]
      Author: Steven Saylor

Edition #1: Gladiator Dies Only Once, a

Gladiator Dies Only Once, a (2005)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Gladiator Dies Only Once, a (2005)

ISBN: 0312357443

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use