The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Tomb for Boris Davidovich, a

Tomb for Boris Davidovich, a (1976) [Collection]
by Danilo Kis Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

Composed of seven dark tales, A Tomb for Boris Davidovich presents variations on the theme of political and social self-destruction throughout Eastern Europe in the first half of the twentieth century. The characters in these stories are caught in a world of political hypocrisy, which ultimately leads to death, their common fate.

Although the stories Kis tells are based on historical events, the beauty and precision of his prose elevates these ostensibly "true" stories into works of literary art that transcend the politics of their time.


  • The Knife with the Rosewood Handle
  • The Sow That Eats Her Farrow
  • The Mechanical Lions
  • The Magic Card Dealing
  • A Tomb for Boris Davidovich
  • Dogs and Books
  • The Short Biography of A. A. Darmolatov

Original title: Grobnica za Borisa Davidoviča
Original languages: Serbo-Croatian


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

No members of this collection were found in our database.

No Editions Found

No editions of this work have yet been entered into our database. If you would like to add an edition, use the "Add a book" link on the left.

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use