The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: After Silence

After Silence (1993) [Novel]
by Jonathan Carroll Rating: Weighted - 7.9 / Average - 8.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary :

In his late thirties, Max Fischer is a successful cartoonist living in Los Angeles. Scarred by recent love affairs, he is cautious yet nevertheless intriged when he meets Lily Aaron and her son Lincoln. As Max spends more time with the Aarons, he falls hopelessly in love with them. The perfect mate, the perfect child--the perfect situation, since they seem to love him, too, with equal intensity.

But all is not perfect. Shortly after Max moves in with the Aarons, he discovers Lily has committed a crime so heinous that she has been running from the truth for years. Max is suddenly faced with making the most difficult decision of his life: Should he right Lily's wrong--sacrificing his adoptive family? Or should he look away from the truth? Either choice is devastating.

Original title: After Silence
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionCrime and MysterySuspense

Edition #1: After Silence

After Silence (1993)
Edition Details:

Language: English

  • ". . . A thriller so engagingly told that a reader might be tempted to put the world on hold until the very last page." New York Times Book Review
  • "Riveting . . . After Silence is filled with people who feel as real as one's closest friends, observed with a penetrating, and sometimes brutally chilling, clarity . . . a taut, original work whose excellence fulfills the promises made by this remarkable author over the past dozen years." San Francisco Chronicle
  • "Highly entertaining . . . reveals profound truths about love, secrets and the nature of families." Boston Globe
  • "An electrifying, unforgettable novel that unfolds with the logic of a Greek tragedy . . . Carroll writes with uncompromising honesty about how secrets gnaw and kill." Publishers Weekly (Starred review)
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

After Silence (1993)

ISBN: 0385473516

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use