The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Book of Eibon, the

Book of Eibon, the (2002) [Anthology]
by Thomas Brown Lin Carter Laurence J. Cornford Michael Fatina John R. Fultz Robert M. Price Joseph S. Pulver Ann K. Schwader Stephen Sennitt Clark Ashton Smith Richard L. Tierney Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (2 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Cthulhu Mythos

Summary (From the publisher):

Tales of lore tell of the Book of Eibon, a tome so ancient that it was composed in the Hyperborean language of Tsath-Yo, long before Atlantis was born from the sea. It goes by dozens of names and predates the Necronomicon and Unaussprechlichen Kulten. Now, Chaosium reveals the true secrets of the Book of Eibon for the first time.

The contents of the Book of Eibon are primarily the work of Clark Ashton Smith, one of the most famous authors of Weird Tales and the inventor of the Book of Eibon, as well as Lin Carter, esteemed fantasy and horror editor. Robert Price, Richard Tierney, Joseph Pulver, and a number of other authors have helped complete the text, resulting in a tome that reveals all the secrets of the Cthulhu Mythos, from the history of the first alien races to come to Earth, to the histories of the Elder Magi of Hyperborea, and the story of Eibon's life and death.


  • Introductory Material
  • Book One: Histories of the Elder Magi
    • The Double Tower by Lin Carter
    • The Devouring of Sílithik Hhai by John R. Fultz
    • The Scroll of Morloc by Lin Carter
    • The Descent into the Abyss by Lin Carter
    • The Secret in the Parchment by Lin Carter
    • The Face from Below [anonymous]
    • The Sphinx of Abormis by Laurence J. Cornford
    • The Alkahest by Laurence J. Cornford
    • The Coming of the White Worm by Clark Ashton Smith
    • The Light from the Pole by Lin Carter & Clark Ashton Smith
    • The Stairs in the Crypt by Lin Carter
    • The Feaster from the Stars by Lin Carter
    • The Green Decay by Robert M. Price
  • Book Two: Episodes of Eibon of Mhu Thulan
    • The Utmost Abomination by Lin Carter
    • Uttressor by Clark Ashton Smith, Laurence J. Cornford & Richard L. Tierney
    • Annotations for the Book of Night by Robert M. Price
    • The Burrower Beneath by Robert M. Price
    • In the Vale of Pnath by Lin Carter
    • Shaggai by Lin Carter
    • The Haunting of Uthnor by Laurence J. Cornford
    • The Offspring of the Tomb by Laurence J. Cornford
    • The Demon of the Ring by Laurence J. Cornford
    • The Door to Saturn by Clark Ashton Smith
  • Book Three: Payrus of the Dark Wisdom
    • The Unbegotton Source by Lin Carter
    • The Polar Ones by Lin Carter
    • The Elder Beings by Lin Carter
    • The Great Race of Yith by Lin Carter
    • The City of the Archives by Lin Carter
    • The Coming of Cthulhu by Lin Carter
  • Book Four: Psalms of the Silent
    • Petition: To Tsathoggua by Richard L. Tierney
    • To Atlach-Nacha by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Prayer of Yzduggor the Apostate by Richard L. Tierney
    • Prayer to Lord Yok-Zothoth by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Appeasement of Ghizguth by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Summoning of Pharol by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Unresponding Gods by Richard L. Tierney
    • The House of Haon-Dor by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Dark Sorcerer by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Contemplative God by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Door to Cykranosh (or, Eibonís Lament) by Richard L. Tierney
    • Hyperborea (or, Eibonís Prophecy) by Richard L. Tierney
    • The Minions of Zstylzhemgni by Richard L. Tierney
    • Ycnagnnissz by Richard L. Tierney
    • Ubbo-Sathla by Michael Fantina
    • Azathoth by Michael Fantina
    • Tsathoggua by Michael Fantina
    • Rede of the Grey Weavers (fragment) by Ann K. Schwader
    • Mhu Thulanese Invocation to Abhoth by Ann K. Schwader
    • Voormi Hymn of Deliverance by Ann K. Schwader
    • The Supplication of Cxaxukluth by Robert M. Price
  • Book Five: The Eibonic Rituals
    • The Green Decay by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Disgorging of the Pit by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Yggrr Incantation by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Execrations of Glorgne by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Adjuration of Pnom by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Litany of Xastur by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Hnaa Formula by Stephen Sennitt
    • The Warding of Rivashii by Stephen Sennitt
    • To Call Forth Tsathoggua to Smite Thy Enemy by Joseph S. Pulver
    • To Summon and Instruct Zhogtk, the Emanation of Yoth by Joseph S. Pulver
    • To Walk Free Among the Harms of Zin by Joseph S. Pulver
    • The Banishing Seal of Yste by Thomas Brown
    • The Nine Pentacles of Sgandrom by Thomas Brown
    • The Scarlet Sign by Thomas Brown
    • The Triply Drawn Circle of Power by Thomas Brown
  • Appendices

Original title: The Book of Eibon
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHorror

No members of this anthology were found in our database.

Edition #1: Book of Eibon, the

Book of Eibon, the (2002)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Book of Eibon, the (2002)

ISBN: 1568821298

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use