The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Seventh Cadfael Omnibus, the

Seventh Cadfael Omnibus, the (1997) [Omnibus Volume]
by Ellis Peters Rating: Weighted - 7.2 / Average - 7.0 of 10 (1 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Brother Cadfael

Summary :

The Holy Thief (1992)
At the height of the hot summer of 1144, the Earl of Essex succumbs to a fatal arrow - but only after a lingering fever during which his officials do their best to save him from hellfire by restoring properties he has annexed, including the abbey of Ramsey. The abbey is in such a sorry state that a call for help in restoring it goes out to all houses of the Benedictine Order. But when heavy rains bring the threat of floods to Shrewsbury, and the holy relics must be removed to a place of safety, the subsiding waters reveal a robbery has been committed. The master sleuthing of Brother Cadfael is put to the test once more, but to the crime of theft is soon added a murder...

Brother Cadfael's Penance (1994)
In the year of our Lord 1145, the bitter rift between King Stephen and Empress Maud at last has a chance for reconciliation. A council takes place between the two sides that is hoped will resolve the question of prisoners of war. Brother Cadfael, ensconced in his herb garden at the Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, seeks leave to attend the crucial meeting. For he has learned that among the prisoners is one Oliver de Bretagne, a young man who calls upon loyalties even higher than Cadfael's monastic vows. 'Before I was a brother I was a father,' Cadfael observes, and his determination to come to his son's aid prompts a perplexing investigation of a uniquely personal nature.

A Rare Benedictine (1988)
In these three vintage tales of intrigue and treachery, 'A Light On The Road To Woodstock', 'The Price of Light' and 'Eye Witness', emerge the events that turned Cadfael from a crusading and seafaring past to the momentous decision of entering the Benedictine Order in the Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul at Shrewsbury. As Ellis Peters has written of Cadfael's conversion in the autumn of 1120, 'What happens to him on the road to Woodstock is simply the acceptance of a revelation from within that the life he has lived to date, active, mobile and often violent, has reached its natural end, and he is confronted by a new need and a different challenge.'

Original title: The Seventh Cadfael Omnibus
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionHistoricalEuropeanMedieval
FictionScience FictionSex & Gender Roles

The following works are contained within this one:
     Brother Cadfael's Penance (1994) [Novel]
      Author: Ellis Peters

Edition #1: Seventh Cadfael Omnibus, the

Seventh Cadfael Omnibus, the (1997)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Seventh Cadfael Omnibus, the (1997)

ISBN: 0751520810

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use