The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak, the

Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak, the (2001) [Anthology]
by Nigel Brown Kenneth Bulmer Richard Butler David Donachie Arthur Conan Doyle C.S. Forester John Frizell Peter T. Garratt Felicia Hemans William Hope Hodgson Harriet Hudson Jane Jackson F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre Jacland Marmur Frederick Marryat Charles Partington Guy N. Smith Keith Taylor Peter Tremayne M.B. Warriss Derek Wilson Richard Woodman Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Mammoth Anthologies

Summary (From the publisher):

A stirring collection of new and classic sea stories of war and adventure

The Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak includes 15 original and 6 classic stories, from pirateering along British and Hawaiian coasts, skirmishes in French and American ports to the famous sea battles of Trafalgar, Copenhagen and the Nile.

Edited by Mike Ashley and with an introduction by David Donachie.


  • Preface by Mike Ashley
  • Introduction by David Donachie
  • Deadly Transit by F. Gwynplaine MacIntyre
  • Nelson: First Blood by David Donachie (extract from "On a Making Tide")
  • Special Duties by Derek Wilson
  • Fountains of Resolve by Keith Taylor
  • Davy Jonesís Locker by Harriet Hudson
  • The Friendship of Monsieur Jeynois by William Hope Hodgson
  • The Burning Deck by Peter T. Garratt
  • Casabianca by Felicia Hemans (poem)
  • The Trap by Kenneth Bulmer (extract from Treasure)
  • The Revenge by Frederick Marryat (extract from The Privateersman)
  • The Night Attack by Richard Woodman
  • King Georgeís Free Traders by M. B. Warriss
  • The Deserter by Guy N. Smith
  • Nelson Expects by Nigel Brown
  • The Knight Errant by Richard Butler
  • The Revenge of the Gunnerís Daughter by Peter Tremayne
  • The Gauntlet by Jane Jackson
  • Hornblower and His Majesty by C. S. Forester
  • Gunfire off Makapuu by Jacland Marmur
  • The Guns of the Ghost by Charles Partington
  • The Last Engagement by John Frizell
  • Goodbye to His Master by Arthur Conan Doyle

Original title: The Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionAdventureMilitary and Naval Adventure

This work contains excerpts from the following works :
     Privateersman, the (1846) [Novel]
      Author: Frederick Marryat
     Treasure (1973) [Novel]
      Author: Adam Hardy


  • Published in the U.S. as "The Mammoth Book of Sea Battles"

Edition #1: Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak, the

Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak, the (2001)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Edited by: Mike Ashley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Mammoth Book of Hearts of Oak, the (2001)

ISBN: 1841192791

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use