The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Grain Kings, the

Grain Kings, the (1976) [Collection]
by Keith Roberts Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

As an SF writer, Keith Roberts has long been as fascinated with the past as with the future. In his stories, several of which are printed in this collection, he explores parallel worlds, where, but for a quirk of history, we might all be living today. The Grain Kings, the title story, charts the course of two massive and rival combine harvesters, whole ecosystems in themselves, on a collision path in a vast sea of wheat. The White Boat is a disturbing atmospheric story of a girl's awakening from a kind of Celtic twilight, and her abduction by Corsairs from the Continent. Weihnachtsabend explores the eerie parallel world of a German England. There are also barge stories, dragon stories - and a few set on other planets. All testify to the tremendous range of Keith Roberts' imagination - and even more, to his evocative descriptive power.


  • Weihnachtsabend (1972)
  • The White Boat (1966)
  • The Passing of the Dragons (1972)
  • The Trustie Tree (1973)
  • The Lake of Tuonela (1973)
  • The Grain Kings (1972)
  • I Lose Medea (1972)

Original title: The Grain Kings
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience Fiction

No members of this collection were found in our database.

Edition #1: Grain Kings, the

Grain Kings, the (1976)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Grain Kings, the (1977)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London
Publisher: Panther Science Fiction
ISBN: 0586043136
Pages: 208

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use