The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Nobodaddy's Children

Nobodaddy's Children (1963) [Omnibus Volume]
by Arno Schmidt Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Series: Collected Early Fiction, 1949-1964
Part: 2

Summary (From the publisher):

Nobodaddy's Children is a trilogy of novels that traces life in Germany from the Nazi era through the postwar years and into an apocalyptic future. Scenes from the Life of a Faun recounts the dreary life of a government worker who escapes the banality of war by researching the exploits of a deserter from the Napoleonic Wars nicknamed The Faun. Brand's Heath deals with the chaos of the immediate postwar period as a writer joins a small community of "survivors" to try to forge a new life, and Dark Mirrors is set in a future where civilization has been virtually destroyed. Dark Mirrors' narrator fears he may be the last man on earth until the discovery of another creates new fears. All three novels are characterized by Schmidt's unique combination of sharply observed details, sarcastic asides, and wide erudition.

Original title: Nobodaddy's Kinder
Original languages: German


Genre: FictionGeneral FictionLiterary Fiction/classics

No members of this omnibus volume were found in our database.

Edition #1: Nobodaddy's Children

Nobodaddy's Children (1995)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Translated by: John E. Woods
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Nobodaddy's Children (1995)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: Normal, IL
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
ISBN: 1564780902
Pages: 237

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use