The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Cities in Flight

Cities in Flight (1970) [Omnibus Volume]
by James Blish Rating: Weighted - 6.8 / Average - 6.7 of 10 (3 votes) (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

James Blish's masterwork, originally published in four volumes, explores a future built on two crucial discoveries: antigravity devices - 'spindizzies' - which allow whole cities to be lifted from the Earth to become giant spaceships, and longevity drugs which enable their inhabitants to live for thousands of years. As Earth stagnates, one by one the cities depart to the stars, leading to the establishment of a unique Galactic empire.

This omnibus includes the following novels:

  • They Shall Have Stars
  • A Life for the Stars
  • Earthman, Come Home
  • The Triumph of Time
  • Afterword by by Richard D. Mullen

Original title: Cities in Flight
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionScience FictionAdventureSpace Travel & Exploration

The following works are contained within this one:
     Earthman, Come Home (1955) [Novel]
      Author: James Blish

Edition #1: Cities in Flight

Cities in Flight (1970)
Edition Details:

Language: English

  • "This is the real heady wine of science fiction" Terry Pratchett
  • "An outrageous imaginative coup... Crammed with high adventure yet illuminated by a searching intelligence, this four-part epic completely reinvented the traditions of space opera" Paul J. McAuley
Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Cities in Flight (1999)

Format: Paperback
Place of publication: London, UK
Publisher: Millennium
ISBN: 1857988116
Dimensions: 5 x 8 x 2
Pages: 605

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2017
Terms of Use