The Internet Book List - Spread the word

Book Information: Hope

Hope (1998) [Novel]
by Glen Duncan Rating: No votes (Rate!)
Reviews: None (show them) Review!

Summary (From the publisher):

From the publisher

Gabriel Jones could be your boyfriend, your husband, or even yourself--he's an intelligent, charming, poetry-loving university graduate; he believes in love; he's capable of strong friendships--and he's been seeing a gorgeous high-priced call girl who picked him up in a London caf. He's also addicted to pornography. In fact, it's his attraction to pornography that causes the collapse of his relationship with the one woman he has ever loved. Hope is a novel in the tradition of Philip Roth's Portnoy's Complaint, Nabokov's Lolita, and Dostoyevsky's Notes from the Underground--confessional novels that have at their centers a hyperintelligent protagonist who seductively draws the reader into an illicit world. Why would a young, attractive man, who has found the woman of his dreams, turn to pornography? Why do men in general turn to pornography? Welcome to the world of Hope. By turns disarmingly intelligent, hilariously funny, and deeply disturbing, Hope examines Gabriel Jones's numerous obsessions: love and friendship; behavior he recognizes as both ridiculous and self-destructive; and mortality. It signals the remarkable debut of a highly talented young writer.

Original title: Hope
Original languages: English


Genre: FictionGeneral Fiction

Edition #1: Hope

Hope (1998)
Edition Details:

Language: English

Search at Amazon!

Search at Powells!

Search at AbeBooks!

Manifested in:

Hope (1998)

ISBN: 1573220949

Add to my library

©Steven Jeffery /, 2012
Terms of Use